ABC’s of Reading

Image

 

Have a minute?  Grab a book.

Have an hour?  Grab two books.

Adventure,
Board book,
Comedy.
Dogs,
Elephants,
Fancy Nancy, too.
Guana,
Hawaii,
Igloos,
Jungles,
Kokomo Beach.
Lost in time or places
Many have
Never seen.
Opportunities to dream,
Play,
Question,
Reach out, and
Savor the world.
Thinking,
Ultimately,
Viewing through multiple lenses,
Wherever an
X marks the spot as
You

Zoom to new locations.

Where has your reading taken you?

*How important was the format of today’s poem?  Check out yesterday’s slice here if you did not read it!

20 responses

  1. I love zooming to new locations!

    1. Thanks, Susanne. I feel like I was channeling a little bit of “Oh, the Places You Can Go” as I wrote this. It has been decades since I publicly shared any poetry. . . much angst on this cold, wintry morning!

  2. Great poem, Fran! You’ve really captured all that books offer us. Thanks for sharing!

    1. Thanks, Catherine! Books are so very important for a variety of reasons!

  3. Thank you. I enjoyed this and yes, you tempted me to go back and read yesterday’s post which I also enjoyed. New ideas spinning in my head now. Are you familiar with I Am Utterly Unique by Larson? We have used that to help our children better understand their friends with autism. Excellently written.

    1. Thanks, Cindy for recommending “I Am Utterly Unique” which is the perfect message for all children!

  4. Reading is such a joy! It breaks my heart when kids don’t fall in love with reading and they abandon independent reading as fast as possible. Great start to your writing month!

    1. I believe that anyone who has not fallen in love with reading has not found the right book YET! Reading has so much power for students!
      Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

  5. Reading takes me to the beach in the winter and mall towns I’ll never see. It helps me envision new possibilities and gain new perspectives.

    1. Stacey,
      I love the “transportation” that comes from a good book that can move you from a wintry wonderland to a Sandy warm beach. That thinking and imagination is so important!

      Thanks for the comments!

  6. Allison Jackson | Reply

    Aw, what a great poem, Fran. Thanks for taking me along on your adventure.
    Especially loved the “viewing through multiple lenses” line! :)

    1. Allison,

      Lots of “fun” in my poem. A bit of the Beach Boys with Kokomo Beach and “Falling in Love with Close Reading” and Chris and Kate. I am a product of my reAding!

      Thanks for the comment!

  7. Love the poem Fran. It captures all the lovely things in reading. I did a bit of that yesterday. Hoping to do some more today. Zooming somewhere, zooming in, just zoom!

    1. Julianne, thanks for your comments. I love the notion that reading has so much potential for new horizons for ALL!

  8. I love the randomness of where each alphabet would alight – you found such an imaginative way in which to “show” us the many places our reading lives take us, Fran. Such fun!

    1. Thanks, Tara! I’ve never associated “fun” with my blog posts before so I’m definitely into exploring some different ideas during this Slice of Life Challenge. I love the advice and encouragement that you all provide!

  9. Love the many places you show that books can take us! What an interesting way to show the alphabet!

    1. Thanks for your comments, Crystal! I’m all about using a variety of “ways” to organize or share our thoughts and feelings. Using the “abc’s” is a natural fit for me!

  10. Fun to see you continue your abc theme with an abecedarian. And you have so captured my feelings about all of the places I have gone with books…

Leave a Reply

daywells Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Joel Pedersen

be that #oneperson

adventuresinstaffdevelopment

All Things Literacy! Brianna Parlitsis

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

elsie tries writing

This is a place for my slice of life and general thoughts.

I Haven't Learned That Yet

This blog serves to document my path of learning and teaching.

Simply Inspired Teaching

Because your kids are counting on you

Reflections on Leadership and Learning

Sharing my learning experiences

AnnaGCockerille Literacy

The Generative Power of Language: Building Literacy Skills One Word at a Time

Reading to the Core

Just another WordPress.com site

Karen Gluskin

My Teaching Experiences and Qualifications

To Read To Write To Be

Thoughts on learning and teaching

Books and Bytes

Exploring the best of literature and edtech for the middle grades.

To Make a Prairie

A blog about reading, writing, teaching and the joys of a literate life

Raising Voices

Thoughts on Teaching, Learning, and Leading

chartchums

Smarter Charts from Marjorie Martinelli & Kristine Mraz

teachu92

books and educational topics

This is Who I am....... by Marleisa

wife daughter sister teacher student traveller home maker

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Reading By Example

Rethinking the Role of the Literacy Leader

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,456 other followers

