Book Review / Summer Vacation Plans?

Another book that I found at the New York City Public Library was this gem that is full of wonderful advice about what you should do this summer!

book cover

Have you seen this book?  Do you remember “Little Golden Books”?

I remember collecting a wide variety of these when my son was little.  They were a perfect length for bedtime reading and had such a nice “happily ever after” ending (or at least the ones I remember). These were constants on the shelves as I traded other books that I was using at school depending upon the season and the age.

I’m not saying that these are great literature and are worthy of “stickers” as we heard Jackie Woodson talk about at #TCRWP’s Reading Institute.  But do check out the messages that I found in a very quick perusal of the book’s pages.

turn off tv

(And it’s very important to note that this page says 1959.  I didn’t know that color TV had even been invented in 1959.  Maybe color TVs just hadn’t made it to Iowa yet! History of color TV here at wikipedia.)

So if you turn off the TV, you should . . .

three

Clever, NO?  Not convinced?

More wisdom . . .

four

or even . . .

five

What have you planned for your summer vacation?

Will you turn off TV?
Will you read a book?
Will you use your imagination?
Will you learn something new?

. . . a cute book that you will enjoy sharing!

5 responses

  1. I LOVE this book Fran. I purchased a bunch of copies, and have given them as birthday, Mothers Day, and retirement gifts. I was impressed with the wise advice from a simpler era, but the retro illustrations were the real gems. Thanks for sharing1

    1. Laurie,
      I believe that this is the ONE Little Golden Book that everyone needs and I agree that the illustrations are gems!

      Thanks for commenting!

  2. So I am reading Dale Carnegie’s How to win Friends. Vintage text, but very apropos for current times.

    1. LInda,
      That is a classic text! I agree that it is appropriate. Sometimes vintage is good! :-)

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

  3. […] (This is the fourth post about new resources acquired in NYC while attending the 2014 TCRWP June Writing and July Reading Institutes.  See previous posts for  a compare and contrast lesson #CCSS here, Stand for Children here, and a book review here.) […]

Leave a Reply

daywells Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Joel Pedersen

be that #oneperson

adventuresinstaffdevelopment

All Things Literacy! Brianna Parlitsis

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

elsie tries writing

This is a place for my slice of life and general thoughts.

I Haven't Learned That Yet

This blog serves to document my path of learning and teaching.

Simply Inspired Teaching

Because your kids are counting on you

Reflections on Leadership and Learning

Sharing my learning experiences

AnnaGCockerille Literacy

The Generative Power of Language: Building Literacy Skills One Word at a Time

Reading to the Core

Just another WordPress.com site

Karen Gluskin

My Teaching Experiences and Qualifications

To Read To Write To Be

Thoughts on learning and teaching

Books and Bytes

Exploring the best of literature and edtech for the middle grades.

To Make a Prairie

A blog about reading, writing, teaching and the joys of a literate life

Raising Voices

Thoughts on Teaching, Learning, and Leading

chartchums

Smarter Charts from Marjorie Martinelli & Kristine Mraz

teachu92

books and educational topics

This is Who I am....... by Marleisa

wife daughter sister teacher student traveller home maker

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Reading By Example

Rethinking the Role of the Literacy Leader

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,535 other followers

