Slice of Life 21: 6:15 on a Friday

(During March, I am blogging daily as a part of the Slice of Life Story Challenge!)  Special thanks to the hosts of the Slice of Life Challenge:  StaceyTaraDanaBetsyAnna and Beth.   More Slice of Life posts can be found at  Two Writing Teachers .

Today’s idea courtesy of Stacey under 3/20/14 “Be Inspired” with original from @MrsDay75 “8:15 on a School Day.”  

6:15 on a Friday

It’s 6:15 am
Tick, tock
Pour a cup of coffee
Tick, tock

*
Check the weather
Tick, tock
Check email
Tick, tock

*
Check my Twitter Stream.
Retweet,
Favorite,
Mention,
Check for slices.
Tick, Tock

*

Grab the carafe
Pour a second cup
Watch the news
Begin my list
Tick, tock.

*
Let the dog out
Feed and water
Check my grocery list
Tonight’s the night
to grocery shop.

*
Start the car.
Hit defrost.
Turn up the heat
Calendar says, “spring”
The day says, “cold.”
Tick, tock.
*
Rinse out coffee cup,
Fill travel mug,
Brush my teeth,
Pack up and GO,
On the road,

Off to school!

Tick, tock!

13 responses

  1. Next you could do 6:15 p.m. Friday, what a contrast it would be! Your day starts a lot like mine, but I don’t always end up at a school. Had to laugh with the calendar says spring, day says cold. One day it will say spring.

    1. Thanks for that fabulous idea! However, if I am still grocery shopping, hmmmmm…..

  2. Oh, I like this. Sounds a lot like my mornings! This poem of taking a moment in time is one of my favorites. Kids like it too. They think it’s easy to write poetry when we do it like this.

    1. It’s really about that minute and the next fifteen as well! I think the “narrow focus” appealed to me after I got over the “what time?” would be a good time. I can also see the benefits from writing a few of these and then having student “partner conference” about the images and words captured!

  3. I often feel like I’ve put in a full day’s work before I even arrive at school! Your poem captures your morning perfectly!

    1. So true, Catherine. There’s always an orchestration of events before “the day’s work” begins!

  4. These posts are fun to read. I read yours and looked for similarities to mine.

    1. Jaana, it is such a pleasure to make new friends through Twitter and blogs. I love your Poetry Friday. I just last night said this window washing was a weekend priority to signal the start of spring!

  5. This is a great idea for a post! I need something for today! Hmmmm!

    1. It was fun! I did make some notes on 6:15 pm but it was not as much fun for me and remains only notes!

  6. Isn’t it amazing all we do before our day officially begins, Fran? Loved the repetitive “tick tock” of the clock. Some mornings I am sure it ticks faster than others.

    Cathy

    1. Thanks, Cathy.
      I was almost thinking of a metronome setting the pace. And yes, some days it’s definitely relaxing to “go to work!”

Leave a Reply

Doing The Work That Matters

a journey of growing readers & writers

Present Perfect

adventures in multiple tenses

Leadership Connection

from Great Prairie AEA

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna

Middle English

Life as an English teacher leader

steps in the literacy journey

Walking the Path to Literacy Together

arjeha

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Resource - Full

Sharing Ideas, Strategies and Tools

Joel Pedersen

be that #oneperson

adventuresinstaffdevelopment

All Things Literacy! Brianna Parlitsis

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

elsie tries writing

"The problem with people is they forget that that most of the time it's the small things that count." (Said by Finch in All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. These are my small things that count.

I Haven't Learned That Yet

This blog serves to document my path of learning and teaching.

Simply Inspired Teaching

A blog by Kari Yates

Reflections on Leadership and Learning

Sharing my learning experiences

AnnaGCockerille Literacy

The Generative Power of Language: Building Literacy Skills One Word at a Time

Reading to the Core

Just another WordPress.com site

Karen Gluskin

My Teaching Experiences and Qualifications

To Read To Write To Be

Thoughts on learning and teaching

Books and Bytes

Exploring the best of literature and edtech for the middle grades.

To Make a Prairie

A blog about reading, writing, teaching and the joys of a literate life

Raising Voices

Thoughts on Teaching, Learning, and Leading

chartchums

Smarter Charts from Marjorie Martinelli & Kristine Mraz

