SOL: Prepping for TCRWP

ImageTuesday is the day to share a “Slice of Life” with Two Writing Teachers. Check out the writers, readers and teachers here. 

 

plane NY

Songs to speed me on my way in just three days  . . .

“Leavin’ on a jet plane, don’t know when I’ll be back again.  . . ”  (John Denver)

memories of family sing alongs (especially the chorus when everyone wants to sing bass) in airports, movie theaters, and on planes

“Fly Away, Fly Away”   (John Denver)

“New York, New York”

 

tc columbia

What will be the best thing about the 2014 Teachers College June Advanced Writing Institute?

Lucy Calkins’ opening keynote?

The large group sessions?

The small group sessions?

Daily choice keynotes?

The talented TCRWP staff?

Meeting fellow bloggers and tweeters face to face?

The Shows?

The Food?

The Weather?

Playing tourist in New York City?

Learning with friends:  old and new?

 

 Survival Questions:

How many books do I need on my iPad to cover a day of flying, 13 days in NYC, and a day flying home?

How many pieces of technology do I need for my 15 total days?

Estimated number of Tweets during the 15 days?

Estimated number of blog posts during the 15 days?

 

Your thoughts?  Any answers?  Advice? 
19 responses

  1. My thoughts… So jealous! 🙂
    Have a great time!

    1. So much to continue to learn . . . so little time! June has become my favorite learning month.

      I am also jealous . . . of those teachers and administrators who have financial support to attend #TCRWP, but I love the fact that I have made the choice to invest in MY future!

  2. I have no answers but similar questions as I prepare for three weeks in Lithuania! However, New York! Jealous! Learning rather than teaching? More jealous! Wish you could pack me in your suitcase and I could send my avatar!

    1. Ooooh! Lithuania! That sounds fun!

      I so need learning time. Tomorrow is a one-day with Dr. Guskey on Standards-Based Learning for Administrators, then a writing class with local teachers on Thursday and I am off.

      Hmm. Computer bag and carry on only. It would be fun to see you in New York!

  3. I feel like a lot of informative tweets and blog posts are on the horizon.. Looking forward to meeting you in person next Tues.

    1. Oh, Stacey! You have hit the technology portion of my behavior. I am sure that I will blog more than weekly! Last summer I definitely used my blogging as a way to “sort out my thinking”. Hopefully, I won’t be quite so muddled.

      And yes, see you in a week for lunch!

  4. SO SO excited to see you in is it !0 days? I hope I can help you make some of those dining decisions. I’ll be looking for you tweets next week!!

    1. Julieanne,
      Probably more than 10 days as I did not specifically count on my fingers! Watch for tweets – opening keynote on Monday is Lucy Calkins. That will set the tone/stage for the entire week of learning!

      Soon, my friend!

  5. Enjoy every minute!!! We look forward to sharing your journey and learning through your posts and tweets!! Thanks for sharing.
    Clare and Tammy

    1. Thanks! I love sharing so that will be easy! Lots of fun lined up as I meet Stacey and Allison and I play tourists, visit bookstores, AND go to shows!

      FUN! Learning! New and old friends!

  6. Oh, it will be wonderful! I wish I was going to be there! Maybe next year again. Keep in touch and send us your notes!

    1. Jennifer,

      I’m taking my Mac Air as it has 5 hours of battery and is the fastest way for me to get to notes! I have also practiced with TweetDeck on it for the last 2 weeks. Tech may get the best of me – we’ll see how my plan goes!

      I’m also assuming that I could write for a week just from a Lucy Calkin’s keynote. She has such a powerful speaking style!

  7. Fran! I am so jealous but so excited because I know that I will be able to learn from you while you are there!

    1. Thanks, Taylor!

      Knowledge is always to be shared! I’m so glad that I already know some of the folks in my sessions. There’s a lot of “gain” from the conversations!!!

  8. Looking forward to seeing you, Fran – when I get back from Boothbay. We’ll have so much to talk about, so many notes to compare!

    1. Tara, I will be very curious to hear about Boothbay as they have a great lineup of presenters there as well! Because of the holiday – and starting on Sunday – it will seem like a short week. I wonder if we will get the Trail Guide in advance so we can plan ahead??? Soon, my friend!

  9. Again, I’m so happy that you have this opportunity! I hope the tweet and blog post numbers are very high! I can’t wait to hear your reflections and learning! HAVE FUN!

    1. Thanks, Dana!

      I love the predictions for tweeting and blogging. I’ll probably be so amazed that I’ll forget to “report out”!

      I’ve spent a lot of time writing this year and I made sure that I signed up for “Informational Writing” so I think “success is truly just around the corner!”

  10. Have a wonderful week. Hope I can make in next week to meet you and Julieanne!

Leave a Reply

Present Perfect

adventures in multiple tenses

Leadership Connection

from Great Prairie AEA

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna

Middle English

Life as an English teacher leader

steps in the literacy journey

Walking the Path to Literacy Together

arjeha

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Resource - Full

Sharing Ideas and Resources

Joel Pedersen

be that #oneperson

adventuresinstaffdevelopment

All Things Literacy! Brianna Parlitsis

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

elsie tries writing

"The problem with people is they forget that that most of the time it's the small things that count." (Said by Finch in All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. These are my small things that count.

I Haven't Learned That Yet

This blog serves to document my path of learning and teaching.

Simply Inspired Teaching

A blog by Kari Yates

Reflections on Leadership and Learning

Sharing my learning experiences

AnnaGCockerille Literacy

The Generative Power of Language: Building Literacy Skills One Word at a Time

Reading to the Core

Just another WordPress.com site

Karen Gluskin

My Teaching Experiences and Qualifications

To Read To Write To Be

Thoughts on learning and teaching

