#SOL14: Pushing Ourselves

 

Tuesday is the day to share a “Slice of Life” with Two Writing Teachers. Check out the writers, readers and teachers here. Thanks to Stacey, Anna, Beth, Tara, Dana and Betsy for creating a place for us to work collaboratively.

 

As professionals, how do we show that we are learning and growing?  

Is it in our annual professional growth plan?

Is it a part of our daily work?

For those of us who are PD providers, how do we maintain that trust with teachers that is evidence that we are continually learning and growing?

How do I continually push myself?

My evidence would include:

  • over two years of blogging here at Resource-Full
    • daily participation in the March 2014 Slice of Life Story Challenge (My goals and my writing)
    • weekly participation in Slice of Life 14
  • regular participation in weekly #TCRWP chats
  • regular participation in the #Fallinginlovewithclosereading chats and blogs
  • infrequent participation in #ira, #noticeandnote, #ncte, and #educoach chats
  • daily responses to questions and concerns that arise from teaching situations

 

After a two day UbD training opportunity, my partner and I received the following comment from a teacher:  ““This was very beneficial. It was one of the best PD experiences that I have participated in. I can walk away saying that I learned a lot. This is the first time that I have actually been able to put the Iowa Core Standards into action!”   What a compliment for both of us! One reason that we both “pushed” for the UbD work was to literally help our teachers gain a deeper understanding of the Iowa Core as they aligned the desired results with the assessments and the learning plan!

Where did the question about learning, growing, and pushing ourselves come from?

A tweet last week . . .

“If we aren’t pushing ourselves everyday to be a better version of ourselves, how can we ask kids to do that for us?”

The author of that tweet was @venspired shown below!

venspired

How do you continually push yourself?  What does your evidence look like?

7 responses

  1. I love how you make yourself accountable. I think with so many powerful opportunities to so readily available (like the chat last night) the only limitation you have on growth is the need for sleep. And frankly I wonder how much of that you really need! SOOO looking forward to learning and growing with you in person at NCTE!
    Julieanne

    1. Julieanne,
      Really excited about learning together 24 / 7 at #NCTE14!

  2. Fran, it’s so hard to “show” growth in our position, I think. I’m not sure how I know I’m growing as a coach, but I FEEL like I’m getting better. I guess I need to think about that more and maybe make a list like you did!

    1. Dana,
      We need our own lists of “accountables” but think in terms of “teacher change” and “small steps” for ways to get both our students and our teachers MOVING!

  3. Our posts were similar this week… we were thinking about teacher engagement – true engagement. We are struggling with the struggle between growth mindset and showing growth. Thank you for your inspirational post –we needed it today. Love the quote you shared as well.
    Clare and Tammy

  4. Always a struggle, but, as that quote indicates, it’s so worth the effort required to stretch and grow.

  5. Fran, thanks for reminding me that it is important to show how I am learning and growing. I often forget this, I need to show how I am learning and growing by including other people and pushing myself to interact outside of scheduled chat times, or my own blog. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Doing The Work That Matters

a journey of growing readers & writers

Present Perfect

adventures in multiple tenses

Leadership Connection

from Great Prairie AEA

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna

Middle English

Life as an English teacher leader

steps in the literacy journey

Walking the Path to Literacy Together

arjeha

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Resource - Full

Sharing Ideas and Resources

Joel Pedersen

be that #oneperson

adventuresinstaffdevelopment

All Things Literacy! Brianna Parlitsis

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

elsie tries writing

"The problem with people is they forget that that most of the time it's the small things that count." (Said by Finch in All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. These are my small things that count.

I Haven't Learned That Yet

This blog serves to document my path of learning and teaching.

Simply Inspired Teaching

A blog by Kari Yates

Reflections on Leadership and Learning

Sharing my learning experiences

AnnaGCockerille Literacy

The Generative Power of Language: Building Literacy Skills One Word at a Time

Reading to the Core

Just another WordPress.com site

Karen Gluskin

My Teaching Experiences and Qualifications

