#SOL14: Prioritize!

Tuesday is the day to share a “Slice of Life” with Two Writing Teachers. Check out the writers, readers and teachers here. Thanks to Stacey, Anna, Beth, Tara, Dana and Betsy for creating a place for us to work collaboratively.

 

               Winter Break

Bustle, hustle,

Here and there.

Traveling on,

Places to go,

People to see,

Things to do!

 

Travel?

Leisure Time?

Family?

Friends?

How do I eke out a few minutes for me?

 

Up early?

Up late?

Cooking and baking?

Straightening and cleaning?

Finish reading that book?

Or write a few lines?

 

Can I have it all?

Do I need it all?

Do I adjust my “all” and spread my goals

Over multiple days, times, and events?

 

Is it the holiday?

Christmas?

Chanukah?

Kwanza?

Or is it the togetherness?

The sense of family?

The security of beliefs held tightly?

 

Wishing YOU

peace

love

happiness

friendship

and a few moments to live

a readerly life,

a writerly life,

a family life,

however YOU best decide!

thank you languages

 

 

 

 

 

How do you prioritize during the holidays?

18 responses

  1. Nice way to summarize all that the holidays hold. 🙂 Happy holidays to you!

    1. Thanks, Elsie! It was another jam-packed day but I was so happy to start it with a little writing and thinking about my slicer friends!

  2. I felt the rush of your list poem, but as I sit here still in my pjs at my parents’ house, I have managed to settle in and feel peaceful. So the wish is coming true. Thanks. Happy Holidays to you.

    1. Margaret,
      I hear you! PJ’s lasted til close to noon and then we were off and running. Trying to maintain a pace that allows for fun and fits into ALL schedules without being annoying! Happy Holidays to you and yours as well!

  3. I have a quote for you from this morning’s word a day, Fran: Every noon as the clock hands arrive at twelve, / I want to tie the two arms together, / And walk out of the bank carrying time in bags. -Robert Bly, poet (b. 1926) I often don’t prioritize, just plow through! Happy Holidays!

    1. Linda,
      I love that! Time is such a precious commodity! I’m enjoying my time with the kids! Happy Holidays to you as well!

  4. So true. We get this time to do something other than the usual. I always think we’ll do so much. But then everything comes in and you do have to decide. Prioritize! Right now it’s holding on to these moments more! Happy Holidays Fran! Enjoy.

    1. Thanks, Julieanne!
      Whatever we do get done will be exactly what we NEED to get done! Happy Holidays to you and yours!

  5. “Adjusting my all” I think you were talking directly to me in that line! I am trying to find time for me amidst all the hustle and bustle. I hope you do too! Happy Holidays!

    1. Leigh Anne,
      I’m not worried about a “daily” accounting, but by the end of the holiday break . . . how will a general accounting look? Some time for me? If yes, I will have been successful. I am planning for the “lop-sided-ness” of time spent with the family. Every moment will be treasured! A few quick minutes to read and respond here will last me until tomorrow! Happy Holidays to you as well!

  6. Holidays can be quite hectic and tiring…if we let them. Hope you have some quiet time to just relax and enjoy. Happy Holidays!

    1. I’ll stockpile my quiet time for when I am not with the kids! Time together is so precious! Happy Holidays!

  7. That last stanza is what it’s all about for me! Enjoy your holidays, my friend – so much to celebrate and look forward to!

    1. Tara,
      So much joy and happiness to these holidays! Loving every minute! It will be gone all too soon! Happy Holidays to you and your family as well!

  8. Perfect poem for the this hectic season! I LOVE the list of questions!! Perfect! Hope you find the very best way to enjoy your vacation!

    1. Michelle,
      Happy Holidays to you as well! I am so much a “questioner” . . . Loving every minute of the holidays. They will go by so very quickly!

  9. I love your poem! For me, the holidays are about family togetherness and building memories to last long after the tree comes down. Happy holidays to you and yours!
    Jennifer

    1. Thanks, Jennifer! A poem just seemed to fit today. We had a lot of family time this weekend but I think I was always on the other end of the camera so I don’t YET have any pictures to share! Happy Holidays to you as well!

Leave a Reply

Doing The Work That Matters

a journey of growing readers & writers

Present Perfect

adventures in multiple tenses

Leadership Connection

from Great Prairie AEA

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna

Middle English

Life as an English teacher leader

steps in the literacy journey

Walking the Path to Literacy Together

arjeha

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Resource - Full

Sharing Ideas and Resources

Joel Pedersen

be that #oneperson

adventuresinstaffdevelopment

All Things Literacy! Brianna Parlitsis

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

elsie tries writing

"The problem with people is they forget that that most of the time it's the small things that count." (Said by Finch in All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. These are my small things that count.

I Haven't Learned That Yet

This blog serves to document my path of learning and teaching.

Simply Inspired Teaching

A blog by Kari Yates

Reflections on Leadership and Learning

Sharing my learning experiences

AnnaGCockerille Literacy

The Generative Power of Language: Building Literacy Skills One Word at a Time

Reading to the Core

Just another WordPress.com site

Karen Gluskin

My Teaching Experiences and Qualifications

