March Challenge: #SOL15 Day One

It’s March 1st and that means it’s the first day of 31 days of writing and posting blogs here.  This will be my second year of participating in the March Challenge and I am looking forward to growing even more as a writer and a teacher of writers! Check out the writers, readers and teachers here. Thanks to Stacey, Anna, Beth, Tara, Dana and Betsy at “Two Writing Teachers” for creating a place for us to share our work.

March

How will you begin? What will you write?

Respond to a quote . . .?

Which of these two quotes will help you  plan for the remainder of your school year?

“Education  is the kindling of a flame, not the filling of a vessel.” – Socrates

“Study the past if you would define the future.” – Confucius

I love the “positiveness” of both of these as I think about my role as a literacy coach.  I often have to do both as we look to see where to ignite the passion for continuous learning as we review the data of the past.  What can we do differently?  What must we do differently?  What is our end goal?

Write a poem . . . ?

Are-you-a-poet

March

stories

poems

posts about family

friends

life

Will you be writing?

Daily?

Why not?

Take the plunge . . . .

Invest in yourself

Invest in your own writing!

32 responses

  1. Thank you for some ideas as I get started on this 31 day journey. I slice from time to time, but I have fallen out of the habit of writing. I hope this gets me back in.

    1. This journey will give you lots of fuel for writing! I struggled with the “what” this morning so I just decided that could be a part of the post!

      The good news is that we love to read and write so ideas will be freely shared! Good luck!

  2. I LOVE YOUR POEM – specially the line, “Take the plunge,” as that is just how I feel today. I am jumping into some mighty icy waters but will try to stay afloat!

    1. Thanks, Anita!
      We’ll jump in the waters with you . . . There is so much FUN and ENERGY in this writing community!

  3. Love your poem list, Fran. Most of all, I love the fact that I will find you right here, slicing every day, all March long!

    1. Tara.
      It feels like “home week” already and it’s just the first day. The community here at “Two Writing Teachers” and “slicing” is JUST simply amazing!

  4. I hope to play around with poetry this month. Having a safe playground helps tremendously!

    1. Leigh Anne,
      I worked on poetry a lot last year with at least 11 posts. I need to work on more narrative this year but I struggle to write anything decent in a narrative in a short amount of time. . . we’ll see (still working on my goal list for the month).

      You are absolutely correct that “a safe playground helps tremendously!”

  5. I have taken the “plunge” this year and it definitely feels like jumping with abandon into deep water! I love your word choice with the word “invest”. I would never have thought to use that word to describe this challenge. That word gives this challenge a whole new meaning to me now. Thank you for your poem!

    1. Erin,
      Writing every day is like personal professional development. Trying a variety of formats, putting words on paper, reading other slices – it is so totally an “investment” in your writing future!

      You will be amazed at your writing growth!

  6. Invest in yourself for sure. Socrates is my love. I kindle the flame every day. In myself, my friends, my students, and my dear children. Thank you for so much food for writing this month.

    1. Thanks, Kimberly! It’s all in our attitude and it’s easier to keep the flame burning brightly rather than have to start from scratch every day! Are you slicing? Slicing also = kindling the flame!

      1. Yes! I am slicing. 1stinmaine.blogspot.com

  7. This is my second year of participating in the c\March challenge as well. Don’t know where my writing will take me, but I am looking forward to the journey.

    1. I think this is that time of year where I still like “goals” to help direct my journey, but also relish the use of formats that allow flexibility in how I meet those goals . . . more on goals after drive time thinking!

      I’m looking forward to reading more of your posts as well! Have a great March!

  8. Great ideas, as always! I’m hoping I’m brave enough to do poetry this time around. This is a safe place to try, so why not take the plunge!
    Julieanne

    1. Julieanne,
      Your narrative writing is like poetry to my ears. I can only aspire to write narrative as well as you do! Planning to practice (and saying it publicly) ups the ante – just a bit!

      1. You are too kind Fran! Did I say how much I love this community? 🙂

      2. Not too kind, Julieanne! You tell a story so beautifully and my narrative writing is pretty pathetic!

  9. This is a perfect (and helpful) way to start 🙂

    1. Thanks, Aileen! The quotes seemed too short as did the poem that I had started yesterday so the two fit together really well as I was thinking about a hook for the month!

      Great to hear from you! ❤

  10. Fran, there is nothing pathetic about any writing you do! Now just push that thought out of your head. Oh my that sounded like scolding, you know it was said from a person who sincerely admires your writing. I hope to read narratives and all other manners of writing from you this month. BTW, thanks for your kind words on my post today. 🙂

    1. Thanks, Elsie!
      At the 2013 TCRWP June Writing Institute, my narrative writing scored mostly at the third grade level. That was pretty eye-opening for me! It’s not my favorite so it’s definitely an area that I have had to work on!


      (Room for growth!)

  11. Both are great ideas – start with a quote or write a poem. Sometimes I just start typing and wait to see what comes out! Ha!

    And we’re off…

    1. Thanks, Dana!
      Some days the “just start typing” works and others – well, not so much! I appreciate the “push” this creates for me to practice more “on demand” writing myself!

  12. Thank you for some ideas Fran. Today went well for me but I’m nervous about those days coming up when the pressure is on. I will add a few of your ideas to a list I am keeping. I always feel like this is such a good thing for me to feel as we ask our students to be ready to write everyday. It makes me a better writing teacher.

    1. I have a list going as well . . . (just in case) and especially for those days when my fingers don’t dance across the keyboard.

      I totally agree that this makes me both a better writer AND a better writing teacher! ❤

  13. […] Story Challenge when two emails showed up in my inbox. One was Fran McVeigh’s first post (March Challenge: #SOL15 Day One) and the other was a Simple Truth’s video entitled Attitude Is […]

  14. Your post caused be to reach inside myself and take the plunge again this year! I used data from the past (the fact that I actually posted most everyday in March last year) be my guide to ignite my passion for writing. 🙂

    1. Kathy,
      You will really enjoy writing again this year! Maybe you can use your “exercise” time as a “focused” thinking time to begin crafting your topic! 🙂

  15. Taking the plunge is no longer scary because I know I have the support and friendship of this wonderful community! Thank you for always sharing so much wisdom with us, Fran.

    1. Catherine,
      This is such a wonderful community – whether we have only met “in writing” or “face-to-face” – we all have our love (and sometimes fear) of writing that supports us! So true!

Leave a Reply

Doing The Work That Matters

a journey of growing readers & writers

Present Perfect

adventures in multiple tenses

Leadership Connection

from Great Prairie AEA

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna

Middle English

Life as an English teacher leader

steps in the literacy journey

Walking the Path to Literacy Together

arjeha

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Resource - Full

Sharing Ideas, Strategies and Tools

Joel Pedersen

be that #oneperson

adventuresinstaffdevelopment

All Things Literacy! Brianna Parlitsis

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

elsie tries writing

"The problem with people is they forget that that most of the time it's the small things that count." (Said by Finch in All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. These are my small things that count.

I Haven't Learned That Yet

This blog serves to document my path of learning and teaching.

Simply Inspired Teaching

A blog by Kari Yates

Reflections on Leadership and Learning

Sharing my learning experiences

AnnaGCockerille Literacy

The Generative Power of Language: Building Literacy Skills One Word at a Time

Reading to the Core

Just another WordPress.com site

Karen Gluskin

My Teaching Experiences and Qualifications

To Read To Write To Be

Thoughts on learning and teaching

Books and Bytes

Exploring the best of literature and edtech for the middle grades.

To Make a Prairie

A blog about reading, writing, teaching and the joys of a literate life

Raising Voices

Thoughts on Teaching, Learning, and Leading

chartchums

Smarter Charts from Marjorie Martinelli & Kristine Mraz

