#SOL15: March Challenge Day 2

Slice of Life

Check out the writers, readers and teachers here. Thanks to Stacey, Anna, Beth, Tara, Dana and Betsy at “Two Writing Teachers” for creating a place for us to share our work.  Stacey’s post calling for slices included this Elizabeth Gilbert quote.

 

Writing 

At least try . . .

Never too late!

Writing will get better

as YOU

get older and wiser.

Write something beautiful

to be discovered

and placed on the bookshelves of the world.

At least try . . .

Found Poem

Today I wrote a found poem.  The words in Elizabeth Gilbert’s quote called out to me.  I originally began with “At least try” but then I found myself back at the beginning focusing on pulling out specific images.  New to “found poetry”?  You can find additional information and examples here.

Welcome to Day 2!  What poem is calling out to you?

27 responses

  1. Lovely, I believe I will read this to my students today!

    1. Thanks, Ericka!
      This post literally wrote itself with very, very, very few revisions!

  2. No poem today, but perhaps as we continue to read Shakespeare in class today I might get an inspiration! And I know, there will be days in March when a poem is just a perfect choice for a slice, just like yours today!

    1. Thanks, Jaana!
      I have poetry on my brain because I could see poetry in your “white, pristine layer” of snow in your own post today!

      Have a GREAT day with Shakespeare!

  3. Fran- I love this! How creative to write a found poem. I had not seen the quote by Elizabeth Gilbert; it’s perfect for this challenge.

    1. Thanks, Susan!
      The found poem was one of my favorites last year as a “first-time slicer” so I thought I would re-cycle it for anyone making a list for the month!
      🙂

  4. Yes, at least try. I have to remind myself of that every day this March!

    1. Tara,
      Your posts the last two days have been breath-taking! Love how elegantly you tell a story that completely changes (a bit O Henry-ish in a lot fewer words) like your snowball story this morning!

  5. I Love this poem! Thank you for sharing. I have to remind myself of this every day.

    1. Thanks, Jessie! Poetry can be so much FUN!

  6. It’s a perfect poem for this month – this day. I am going to revisit it in the middle of the month when writing and my schedule start conflicting!

    1. Thanks, Aileen! I thought it would fit perfectly into this month of slicing! ❤

  7. […] Tara’s father- son moment in “Snowball Fight to Start the Day” to Fran’s found poem, based on a quote by Elizabeth Gilbert, there is something for everyone. So much […]

  8. I am a big fan of found poetry. I had my students write poems as a means of reviewing. I even got some content area teachers to try it in their subject area.

    1. Between “Found Poems” and “Blackout Poetry”, I think there is something for every content area teacher! ❤

  9. Gotta love a “found poem”!

    1. Donna,
      Wow! I’m loving all the Maine folks I am seeing in the #SOL15 Challenge!

  10. I might need to use your idea of “found poems” someday! I think this was just lovely, and the perfect sentiment to those of use trying to be writers this month. At least try… 🙂 Words I needed to hear.

    1. “At least try” would be something we might say to our class so it also has to be a source of inspiration here! Thanks for stopping by!

  11. Found Poems and Blackout Poetry are new to me. I look forward to learning from you ONCE AGAIN! 🙂

    Maybe I’ll find a poem during the ISU game I’m watching right now. We have had a slow start – my poem may need to be censored! 🙂

    Kathy

    1. Kathy,
      Crimson and Gold
      the colors of your heart!

  12. I haven’t heard of “found poetry” so I’m happy I stopped by!

    1. Marcie, I am so glad that you stopped by and commented as well! You will want to try it!

  13. I just love the phrase, “Today I found a poem”… Without even knowing about “found poetry”, that phrase works for me. I think that when we do “at least try”, we usually can “find” something as writers. It brings fun and life to the process of writing that adults and children alike could surely enjoy. Thanks!

    1. Thanks, Erin!
      There is so much joy and learning in writing for everyone!

  14. Such an important message! Thanks for sharing it today, Fran!

    1. Thanks, Catherine! S0 enjoying the daily “chats” with slicers!

Leave a Reply

Doing The Work That Matters

a journey of growing readers & writers

Present Perfect

adventures in multiple tenses

Leadership Connection

from Great Prairie AEA

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna

Middle English

Life as an English teacher leader

steps in the literacy journey

Walking the Path to Literacy Together

arjeha

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Resource - Full

Sharing Ideas and Resources

Joel Pedersen

be that #oneperson

adventuresinstaffdevelopment

All Things Literacy! Brianna Parlitsis

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

elsie tries writing

"The problem with people is they forget that that most of the time it's the small things that count." (Said by Finch in All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. These are my small things that count.

I Haven't Learned That Yet

This blog serves to document my path of learning and teaching.

Simply Inspired Teaching

A blog by Kari Yates

Reflections on Leadership and Learning

Sharing my learning experiences

AnnaGCockerille Literacy

The Generative Power of Language: Building Literacy Skills One Word at a Time

Reading to the Core

Just another WordPress.com site

Karen Gluskin

My Teaching Experiences and Qualifications

