#SOL15: March Challenge 15 and the “Currently” Reprise

The power of working with students comes from working with students who take an idea and run with it . . . make it their own or even morph it into something of their own.  Imagine my surprise when this “Currently” text was emailed to me yesterday with this brief explanation:

*Joe asked if he could use the “Currently” format you shared to write about a specific historical figure.  Here’s what he wrote. (*name changed)

Currently:

Applying for a patent for one of many new creations

Communicating with others through the use of devices that are new to man

Thinking about mass production

Creating the first industrial research lab

Generating power for home, businesses, and communities

Founding companies (14 total) including General Electric

Who am I?

Have you read some of the currently posts?  Have you tried it yourself?

Did this student have a purpose for writing?

Amazing . . .

I am celebrating the six statements that were written soley by the student in a TRANSFER of learning to a new situation.  Did the student even HAVE to write about an historical person?  NO!  This student was still talking and writing about the “Currently” activity from two days ago!

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

And have you guessed who the inventor was?  Did you learn a few things during the reading?

Yes, if you guessed Thomas Edison!

Slice of Life

Check out the writers, readers and teachers here. Thanks to Stacey, Anna, Beth, Tara, Dana and Betsy at “Two Writing Teachers” for creating a place for us to share our work.  So grateful for this entire community of writers who also read, write and support each other!

23 responses

  1. Fran,
    Love it that your student could transfer an idea and make it his own-very inspiring share if what students can do when given the opportunity!

    1. Thanks, Amy! Always fun to see what students CAN do! I so agree!

  2. Awesome application of something he learned about in class with his own twist! I will be trying this on Wednesday with my third graders. Kudos to you and your ideas!

    1. Erika,
      I might have thought of this. . . but I so love that it was a “natural” move for this student. What a neat way to bring history alive!

  3. Learning has truly taken place for this student! Time to rejoice!

    1. Thanks, Jaana! And this slice practically wrote itself! Now I’m also thinking of the friend who has her class working on “Romeo and Juliet” What if the students tried out a couple of “Currently” style writings during that piece of reading? Wouldn’t that be some great insight into how well the students were really “steeped” into the characters / situations?

      1. My class is reading Romeo and Juliet!!! I think I might have to try this now!!

      2. So many possibilities! Can’t wait for my next drive time (interstate) thinking!

  4. Inspiring someone to do something…that is what it is all about. Looks like you are a great inspiration. This student did a fantastic job.

    1. Thanks! This student is an incredible reader, writer and thinker!

  5. What a powerful strategy and the depth of knowledge required to complete the writing. That’s a spark you’ve lit which will turn into a wild fire of thinking. How cool!

    1. Thanks, Lee Ann! I love that we never exactly know the FINAL destination when we are on our learning journeys!

  6. Love it! What a creative way to think! I love how he put himself in Edison’s shoes and wrote from his point of view. I bet he will be thrilled to learn he made your blog!

    1. Wasn’t that clever! And yes, when I asked for permission, he went to read my blog and well as I had to send him what I was going to say! So fun to see students come up with their own ideas! In the old days, I would have been saying something like, “Are you sure you are ready for that?” instead of my current, “Wow, I wonder what will happen if you try that!’

  7. Allison Jackson | Reply

    What a satisfying feeling that must be for you, Fran! That student obviously “gets it”! Thanks for sharing this story with us.

    1. The success is due to the student’s work – I would literally just be a guide on the side. We really must work at giving students voices!!! Thanks, Allison! ❤

  8. I love this! You are a consistent source of inspiration.

    1. Thanks, Jessie! I’m just reporting here – the learning was totally owned by the students!!!

  9. This is fabulous, Fran! What a smart student. Can’t wait to share this with the 5th grade teachers. They’re reading biographies right now, and I know they’ll love this, too.

    1. Love working with “can do” folks whether students, teachers or administrators! What fun!

  10. Wow, Wow, Wow! (At first I read it as YOUR currently and I was SO curious to know what new technical creations you were working to patent! Well, maybe you are!)

    Awesome application for Currently format!

  11. Wow, Wow, Wow! (At first I read it as YOUR currently and I was SO curious to know what new technical creations you were working to patent! Well, maybe you are!)

    Awesome application for Currently format!

    ALso considering Jaana’s comment and the Romeo & Juliet you’re both considering. Thinking about some of the writing being done by Greg Armamentos with duels and duets. That could be fun too.

  12. Thanks, Dayna! So many possibilities especially for bringing history to life or even responding to a character or an event i a book . . . deep understanding . . . point of view . . . many rich learning ideas!

Leave a Reply

Doing The Work That Matters

a journey of growing readers & writers

Present Perfect

adventures in multiple tenses

Leadership Connection

from Great Prairie AEA

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna

Middle English

Life as an English teacher leader

steps in the literacy journey

Walking the Path to Literacy Together

arjeha

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Resource - Full

Sharing Ideas and Resources

Joel Pedersen

be that #oneperson

adventuresinstaffdevelopment

All Things Literacy! Brianna Parlitsis

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

elsie tries writing

"The problem with people is they forget that that most of the time it's the small things that count." (Said by Finch in All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. These are my small things that count.

I Haven't Learned That Yet

This blog serves to document my path of learning and teaching.

Simply Inspired Teaching

A blog by Kari Yates

Reflections on Leadership and Learning

Sharing my learning experiences

AnnaGCockerille Literacy

The Generative Power of Language: Building Literacy Skills One Word at a Time

Reading to the Core

Just another WordPress.com site

Karen Gluskin

My Teaching Experiences and Qualifications

