#SOL15: March Challenge Day 23 – Visual Poetry

During the weekend’s challenge to read and comment on 60 posts, I ran across a new app – Visual Poetry:  Word Collage for $1.99 in ITunes.

Here’s what I created for today!

thephoto

Made with Visual Poetry by ImageChef on the iPad

Check out the multiple ways that you can read the message.  Which do you prefer?

Reading the words in white?  or in black?

slice

Check out the writers, readers and teachers here. Thanks to Stacey, Anna, Beth, Tara, Dana and Betsy at “Two Writing Teachers” for creating a place for us to share our work.  So grateful for this entire community of writers who also read, write and support each other!

26 responses

  1. VERY cool visual poem!! I just may need to get that app as a present to myself in April during National Poetry Month! Let’s hope this is a great last free week of March. As for which I found easier to read – I read the number first!! Then the WHITE. Very clever.

    1. The app is pretty easy to figure out. I’m still trying to decide if the “word-splitting” is okay or not. It’s a bit disconcerting at first but I think it is growing on me! More play needed. Can’t wait to see what kids do with it!

      Thanks for commenting, Sally!

  2. This is really neat. The word splitting didn’t really bother me once I saw how it was going. I guess the brain just adjusts

    1. That was kind of what I was thinking. Maybe a whole page would have been too much.

      Right now, it’s just FUN!

  3. Cool visual! I read the white first, but did not read across the line, which then did not make sense, so I had to try a new approach. Then I read straight across, which made sense. At first the word splits bothered me, but then I adjusted. I can see how kids would love to play with this.

    1. It was a bit tricky at first but then it seemed so easy. Going to see what kids think!

  4. I think this is great for some of the time. No one style of poetry should dominate. But it’s very clever and would catch students’ attention. It could be a gateway to writing other types of poetry for some students.

    1. I think it’s going to be a great push for putting some “other” content like social studies/science into poetry. . . less fear for teachers and students! “some of the time”

  5. Michelle @litlearningzone | Reply

    Super cool! I must check this one out.

  6. This is so cool! I’m a huge fan of visual and graphic poetry! I loved integrating art concepts in all writing aspects when I taught in the middle grades. You make me miss that big time today! I love this share and your poem is fantastic. I’m totally checking out this app after this comment!

    To be fair, you did ask a question and were looking to engage a bit? I will not care that it’s snowing again in Chicago this week. I will try to slice and post before 10:45pm, which has been my only me time all month thanks to my kids 😦 Thank you. Your slices have a really organic way of making me think. It’s a bit unfair that I always think of me first. You are very good at making your point known and asking for input. I love that.

    1. Snow . . . seriously some northern Iowa schools started late today due to snow and I know I saw places in MN with 6″ of snow. I don’t have winter coats put away yet!

      I think you will love the app. I’m thinking of using it for more of my own personalized cards in the future!

      My days are so out of control often by the evening that it’s all I can do to get the next day’s work done before collapsing. . . also not my best thinking time so I try to always write in the morning!

      Have a great day and do enjoy looking at that app!

  7. So very cool! I liked reading it in white. I am going to try that app out today! Thank you.

    1. Thanks, the white appealed to me more than the black on gray. More playing in my future! FUN!

  8. Too cool. I will have to get this app and have a go. Cool app. Thanks for sharing!

    1. Erin,
      I am sorry to be promoting something that costs money but yet he options for the shapes (including “draw me” are unlimited) and make this a great use of $1.99!

  9. What a fun app. I appreciate realizing that SOL2015 os in its last full week! What an intense and interesting month this continues to be. Looking forward to TC!

    1. Dayna,
      Absolutely intense and interesting! Also should be some fun in this #SOL15 as well!

  10. Cool! I have to get this, Fran…so many possibilities with vocabulary, important questions, and so much more.

    1. I agree, Tara! So many possibilities!!!

  11. I definitely prefer the white. Does that mean something? It intrigued me to try to find other meanings than just what was there, though. Very cool.

    1. I think the white just means you truly like the opposite contrasts that shows better visually with the white! Had a couple kids try today. interesting choices for them!

  12. What a fun app. Sort of a cloud within a cloud. So many great ways to look at life and writing. I first go to the white but appreciate the black in its subtle almost secret-feeling.

    1. Julieanne,
      There are many fun uses for this app – I like how you described the black as “subtle almost secret-feeling”!

  13. Wow! I had to look at that twice before I realized the highlighted words were in the image of 23. I guess it’s time for me to go to bed!

    1. Catherine,
      But that would be because you weren’t expecting numbers . . . they often don’t just show up “naturally” in our writing!

Leave a Reply

Doing The Work That Matters

a journey of growing readers & writers

Present Perfect

adventures in multiple tenses

Leadership Connection

from Great Prairie AEA

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna

Middle English

Life as an English teacher leader

steps in the literacy journey

Walking the Path to Literacy Together

arjeha

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Resource - Full

Sharing Ideas and Resources

Joel Pedersen

be that #oneperson

adventuresinstaffdevelopment

All Things Literacy! Brianna Parlitsis

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

elsie tries writing

"The problem with people is they forget that that most of the time it's the small things that count." (Said by Finch in All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. These are my small things that count.

I Haven't Learned That Yet

This blog serves to document my path of learning and teaching.

Simply Inspired Teaching

A blog by Kari Yates

Reflections on Leadership and Learning

Sharing my learning experiences

AnnaGCockerille Literacy

The Generative Power of Language: Building Literacy Skills One Word at a Time

Reading to the Core

Just another WordPress.com site

Karen Gluskin

My Teaching Experiences and Qualifications

