#SOL15: March Challenge Day 24 – Community

thank you languages

Thank you, readers, for your reading, your likes and your comments throughout this month of slicing.  There is a real sense of community among slicers especially when you consider this definition

a feeling of fellowship with others, as a result of sharing common attitudes, interests, and goals.

The good news is that all the “slicers” are winners even though Dana will anounce the “one” commenting winner later today.  Those that read 60 posts this last weekend are richer for their reading and those that have written 24, heading to 31, consective days of posts are richer for their writing.  We have shared laughter, tears, fear, joys and had FUN this month.

Some of us will extend this fun this weekend as slicers, courtesy of Tara, gather after the TCRWP Saturday reunion.

will-you-be-here

Will you be there at TC?  See Tara’s slice here for more info!

slice

Check out the writers, readers and teachers who are “slicing” here. Thanks to Stacey, Anna, Beth, Tara, Dana and Betsy at “Two Writing Teachers” for creating a place for us to share our work.  So grateful for this entire community of writers who also read, write and support each other!

26 responses

  1. It is an amazing community that has been built at TWT. I’m so encouraged that it is the positive comments build this house! xo nanc

    1. Nanc,
      So true! Great community. . . so many wonderful readers and writers!

  2. Your words are so true, Fran…richer indeed. Yes I’ll be there for the Saturday Reunion!!

    1. Marcie,
      I look forward to meeting you if you make it to the “after-party”!

      1. I plan on trying to make it!! I put a little reminder in my phone in case I leave so inspired in TCRWP coma:-) Would love to meet you guys. I just joined blogging and slicing in January and have stuck with it only because the community is so supportive.

      2. Marcie,
        That would be great! You are doing a great job for just starting in January!

  3. So true – this community is wonderful. So much to learn from fellow slices and so much encouragement.

    1. Judy,
      This community is also a great reminder of how important it is to not only build but also maintain community in the classroom for student success!

  4. I will look forward to the slices that come from the after party. I wouldn’t be writing a word if it weren’t for this community. I love the connections that grow from writing and reading together.

    1. I know that I would not write nearly as often as I do without this community. Sharing thoughts, dreams, ideas, aspirations – all lead to that feeling of community!

  5. Thank you for writing this slice! It IS an amazing community. I’m so excited about NY!

    1. This community is so self-sustaining, but I love that there are so many communities available through Twitter, etc.

      I’m also excited about NY – worried about making any rational decisions!

  6. I can’t believe this is day 24 of the March challenge. When it started I wasn’t sure I 7 consecutive days worth of ideas let alone 31. It is this community that keeps me writing day after day this month and every Tuesday throughout the year. What a fabulous group of people!

    1. It is so much about writing with and for the people!!! LOL

  7. I have enjoyed reading your writing during SOLSC 2015. Thank you for sharing it with us

    1. Thanks, Erin!
      It’s fun to write when you know you have an audience. (A bit more pressure as well as worry about writing well enough for an audience!)

  8. This really is a great community! I most likely would not have a blog if I had not found this community of writers a few years ago. I still remember how excited I was to get 2 comments on my first blog post in March 2012!!

    1. Jaana,
      I would not be blogging as often if I had not found this community. It’s such a nurturing community!

  9. It has been a great experience!

    1. Great learning . . Both as a writer and as a reader of posts!

  10. Hooray for all the teachers who are writing this month! Hooray! Hooray! Hooray! What an amazing community.

    1. Hooray! So amazing! 300+ teachers spending a couple of hours every day writing and reading blog posts . . . HOORAY!!! ❤

  11. A feeling of fellowship – so true! I’m so grateful for my slicing friends. Have a wonderful time Saturday. We’ll be waiting for slices and pictures.

    1. “It’s all about our slicing friends” – whether near or far. I’m thinking the pictures will make a great slice Sunday!

      Will be thinking of you – our NCTE “slicer” gathering was so much fun!

  12. I wish we were going! Would love to see you all. I have been loving your slices. I have been trying to comment on new slicers and some student slicers –so I have been stalking your slices a bit –sorry. Glad you are ok after your car incident and that your PD schedule seems to be calming down a bit ??? Take care
    Clare

    1. All of life seems to ebb and flow whether personally or work . . . some days I am so engrossed in reading slices that I forget to comment. Other days my comments seem to disappear (especially blogspot).

      Life is good. Will think of you this weekend – thought of you last weekend at ASCD and so excited to see you on the agenda for IRA in July! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Present Perfect

adventures in multiple tenses

Leadership Connection

from Great Prairie AEA

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna

Middle English

Life as an English teacher leader

steps in the literacy journey

Walking the Path to Literacy Together

arjeha

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Resource - Full

Sharing Ideas and Resources

Joel Pedersen

be that #oneperson

adventuresinstaffdevelopment

All Things Literacy! Brianna Parlitsis

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

elsie tries writing

"The problem with people is they forget that that most of the time it's the small things that count." (Said by Finch in All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. These are my small things that count.

I Haven't Learned That Yet

This blog serves to document my path of learning and teaching.

Simply Inspired Teaching

A blog by Kari Yates

Reflections on Leadership and Learning

Sharing my learning experiences

AnnaGCockerille Literacy

The Generative Power of Language: Building Literacy Skills One Word at a Time

Reading to the Core

Just another WordPress.com site

Karen Gluskin

My Teaching Experiences and Qualifications

To Read To Write To Be

Thoughts on learning and teaching

