Elated, Enthused, Excited, and Exhilarated!

It was just past lunchtime on Good Friday.  A day of vacation for many who were already off on holiday excursions or heading out shortly. And then . . . the beep of an email . . .followed almost immediately by a second email.

Hmm. . . I was waiting on a phone call to tell me that the repairs to my Plymouth Vibe were done.  Email . . . UGH!  Work?  It was a spring break day for me and I was finishing up grading work/assignments for my graduate class . . . Should I even read them?. . . Should I wait til I get the car “stuff” done (clean out rental Hyundai and return)?

Decisions!

Decisions!

email

email

NAH!  

It’s time to read the emails NOW!

One less task for later!

Dear Fran,

We are delighted to let you know that you have been accepted to our July Reading Institute 2015 (29 June 2015 – 3 July 2015). We have led this institute for several decades now, and over all these years, we’ve worked strenuously to go from good to great. Part of what makes the summer institutes so exciting is that they bring people together from all over the world—and we’re excited to think that you will be among them.

and then click to the second email . . .

Dear Fran,

We are delighted to let you know that you have been accepted to our June Writing Institute 2015 (22 June 2015 – 26 June 2015). We have led this institute for several decades now, and over all these years, we’ve worked strenuously to go from good to great. Part of what makes the summer institutes so exciting is that they bring people together from all over the world—and we’re excited to think that you will be among them.

Oh, Happy Day!

Yes, Elated, Enthused, Excited and Exhilarated . . . feeling blessed to once again be a part of the summer #TCRWP learning community.

joyful

What to do?

First DM all my Twiter friends who had already been accepted.  Then reread the emails from top to bottom.  What do I need to do next?

Within 30 minutes I have two additional emails that have “Receipt of Payment” in the subject heading!

Back to reading and the details. .  .

Writing Institute:  Speakers for this institute include Carl Anderson, Lucy Calkins, Mary Ehrenworth, Amanda Hartman, Christine Holley, Celena Larkey, Naomi Shihab Nye, and Grant Wiggins.

Reading Institute:  Speakers for this institute include Lucy Calkins, Kathy Collins, Carmen Agra Deedy, Mary Ehrenworth, Amanda Hartman, James Howe, and Shanna Schwartz.

OMG! Literacy Heaven! Literally one week after participating in #TCRWP’s 88th Saturday Reunion!

tcrwp

To paraphrase Frank Sinatra (just a bit)

“Start spreading the news
I am leaving In June
I want to be a part of it
New York, New York”

How exciting to have two weeks of Professional Development focused on writing and reading workshop this summer!

What fabulous learning!

Meanwhile, . . . life continues. Work to be done in the next 75 days. . .

but there is this huge grin!

Oh, Happy Day!

This  hawkeyes   to       TC

17 responses

  1. So happy Fran. Certainly for you, but also for the community. I know we can count on you to share your learning … And that’s as close as some of us can get to being there this year. Yay Fran! Yay TC.

    1. OH, Dayna! I was hoping for a 3peat! (3rd time to see you this year!)

  2. Hurray! Cannot wait to join you for the July Reading Institute! And, might I say, TCRWP is lucky to have you as you are just a wonderful role model of literacy leadership. Fingers crossed for June Writing for me… hoping I know sometime this week.

    1. Christina,
      Looking forward to seeing you BOTH weeks! Sending positive thoughts your way!

  3. Congratulations Fran! So exciting! I look forward to learning through your Tweets and Blog. Thanks so much for all of the literary greatness you share!

    1. Thank you, Susan! Sharing the learning – so critical!

  4. Woohoo! Cheering for you from Missouri! What an all star cast of speakers!

    1. I know! I only take “carry on” so I can’t sneak you in . . . such amazing learning!!!

  5. So glad you are going (as are all those who read your blog). Seriously! I learn more about what I just heard/saw by reading your blog. Happy #aprilwriting too — Could be called #gluttenforpunishment 🙂

    1. Julieanne,
      More writing has to be a good thing!

      By the time I can write about my learning, it means I think I understand it. Trying to move beyond just the “explaining” which is still pretty low level!

      Hoping to fill in my knowledge gaps at primary and MS for both writing and reading. Ambitious! ❤

  6. Allison Jackson | Reply

    I can feel your excitement from here! And I know exactly how you feel. So excited to see you at June Writing and learn with you! Congrats!

    1. Thanks, Allison! We’re going to have to talk about arrival dates, etc. June will soon be here!

      1. Allison Jackson

        Yes, and other fun details, too. Expect an email or DM from me soon! I am plotting!!!

  7. Congratulations, Fran! I haven’t heard about August yet (probably not a good sign), but am always up for time in the city. Dinner at Isabella’s again? We have time to plan.

    1. Catherine,
      I think dinner at Isabella’s would be perfect! Love spending time with friends in NYC!

  8. So thrilled for you! Take it all in! It will truly be amazing.

    1. Learning at TCRWP is like the snowball rolling down hill growing larger and larger – the more you know, the more you understand that there is to learn! Thanks, Kathi!

Leave a Reply

Present Perfect

adventures in multiple tenses

Leadership Connection

from Great Prairie AEA

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna

Middle English

Life as an English teacher leader

steps in the literacy journey

Walking the Path to Literacy Together

arjeha

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Resource - Full

Sharing Ideas and Resources

Joel Pedersen

be that #oneperson

adventuresinstaffdevelopment

All Things Literacy! Brianna Parlitsis

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

elsie tries writing

"The problem with people is they forget that that most of the time it's the small things that count." (Said by Finch in All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. These are my small things that count.

I Haven't Learned That Yet

This blog serves to document my path of learning and teaching.

Simply Inspired Teaching

A blog by Kari Yates

Reflections on Leadership and Learning

Sharing my learning experiences

AnnaGCockerille Literacy

The Generative Power of Language: Building Literacy Skills One Word at a Time

Reading to the Core

Just another WordPress.com site

Karen Gluskin

My Teaching Experiences and Qualifications

To Read To Write To Be

Thoughts on learning and teaching

