#SOL15: Traveling!

images

“My bags are packed, I’m ready to go . . .

I’m standing here outside my door . . .”

passion

On Friday I will be off on another GRAND adventure!

TC

My home for the next two weeks!

Writing Institute:  June 22- 26, 2015

Advanced AM Section – Develop Toolkits to Support Narrative Writing (K-2) Celena Larkey

Advanced PM Section – Using the Best New Children’s Literature as Mentor Texts: Support Sky High Writing (3-8) Shana Frazin

Reading Institute:  June 29 – July 3, 2015

Advanced AM Section – State of the Art Curriculum to Support First Grade Readers (1) Elizabeth Dunford Franco

Advanced PM Section – Embracing Complexity: Teaching Kids to Tackle and Love More Complex Nonfiction (3-6) Katie Clements

The week days will be packed with learning and collaborating with new and old friends.  The week nights and weekends will be filled with visiting with friends (including “Slicers”), continued learning, bookstores, museums and shows – “The Book of Mormon” and the Tony award-winning “Best Revival” – “The King and I”. That’s just a brief preview of my June!

Where will you go and what will you be learning this summer?

slice

Check out the writers, readers and teachers who are “slicing” here. Thanks to Stacey, Anna, Beth, Tara, Dana and Betsy at “Two Writing Teachers” for creating a place to share our work.  So grateful for this entire community of writers who also read, write and support each other!

Looking forward to “seeing” fellow slicers:  Tara, Julieanne and Catherine soon!

36 responses

  1. sallydonnelly11 | Reply

    Fran,
    It turns out that my husband is working in NYC Friday and Sat this week. Friday is my last day of school and then I’m heading to NY to meet him. Any chance you’d want to meet up Sat, anytime before 1pm to chat? Maybe near Bank Street Bookstore? I plan to go there while I await my husband being done with work. I’d love to chat in person with you as in March I only saw you briefly. My cell is 703-307-6689. Text me on Saturday if it seems we could meet up and I’ll come find you. Safe travels!! Also, I tweeted Ryan Scala to see if he’s free Sat morning but haven’t heard back from him.

    1. Sally,
      Just added you to my phone. I’m not clear on where the Bank Street Bookstore has moved to. I believe we have lunch and afternoon plans so morning would work for me! (I’m so much a morning girl!) Fran

  2. First of all, starting with John Denver lyrics?!?! Awesome!!! Enjoy yourself! TWO whole weeks at Teachers College!! Amazing opportunity!!! I am grateful to be going on a writing retreat with a couple of slicers next week. Additionally, I am providing a blogging workshop and attending some county PD this summer…lots of good opportunities for learning. Thanks for asking the question. Have a WONDERFUL trip & I look forward to reading all about it!

    1. Michele,
      Yay! Writing Retreat! I’m also looking forward to ILA in St. Louis next month – Always love meeting folks in real life! Summer is so much about recharging and re-energizing!

  3. Oh my, you are in for such fun! I was jealous when I realized you were going back to the Teachers College. But then, you added musicals! Savor every moment, and remember to dance if someone asks, “Shall we dance?” 🙂

    1. Thanks, Erin!
      NYC is so totally a learning environment whether it be the academic, the social, or the nightlife. Cherish every moment of learning – EVERYWHERE!

  4. I wish I were going, also! Denise

    1. Me, too! Denise, it would be so much fun learning with you!

  5. I will be there for the June 29th Reading Institute! I’ve been to the Writing Institute 2 years ago, and am going to my first Reading Institute! So excited!

    First Year Small Group Section
    2F: Katie Wears
    Grade 2

    First Year Large Group Section
    Grade 2: Shanna Schwartz

    1. Maria,
      It will be a great time to be at the Reading Institute with the new units. You will have great learning with Katie and Shanna.

  6. A friend of mine just saw King and I and loved it. Enjoy your time in NYC. We are going in August and are looking forward to it. We have tickets for Finding Neverland and have dinner reservations at City Lobster and Steak House on 49th Street. Delicious food.

    1. Yay! Another restaurant idea! Never have enough ideas for places to eat! Thanks! The friends I meet, old and new, are the real treasures!

  7. All of your sessions sound incredible, but I cannot wait to hear more about Shanna’s suggestions. If I could’ve done the June institute, that would’ve been the one I would’ve registered for. Have fun!

    1. Stacey,
      The idea of kids “loving complex nonfiction” is also incredibly intriguing. After the intro letter, I am anticipating that Shana’s will surpass MY expectations. I’m always amazed at the direction that literacy work takes us!

      MUCH fun on the list!!!!

  8. Allison Jackson | Reply

    See you soon, Fran!

    1. Safe travels to you as well, my friend!

  9. I’m so jealous, I LOVE NYC! I also envy you your workshops, though I am right now at the Smekens Literacy Retreat and it is quite awesome. Have fun in New York – there’s so much to do!

    1. So where is your retreat, Becky? The reading resources on the Smekens site are often quite good. And you are correct . . . there is much to do in New York!

  10. What fun! Safe travels to you. I leave for All Write in Indiana tomorrow. 🙂

    1. Jennifer,
      I saw info about All Write after making travel plans. That’s not so far for me. I’m going to plan on that soon!

  11. Can’t wait to see you, Fran – and learn from your TC Tweets…which are legendary.

    1. Your school year is almost ready to wrap up and now the FARM! Changes in store for you!
      Ah . . .legendary . . . big shoes to fill! See you soon!

  12. We can’t wait to read all about your new learning – So exciting!

    1. Thanks! It will feel like a blogathon I am sure! I’m still finding it hard to believe that it’s mid – June . . . busy, busy, busy!

  13. I look forward to learning from you through posts and tweets. 🙂 What a wonderful experience! I will be at ILA too, so we might be able to meet. 🙂 Heading to Warsaw to spend two incredible days of learning and meeting up with blogging friends.

  14. Fran,
    I love this post! Celebrating your summer learning and asking others, “Where will you go and what will you be learning this summer?” Love! Right now, I am in IL with Brianna working with the amazing teachers of Frankfort who are teaching/reminding me what a few inspired teachers can accomplish when they work together toward a shared goal.
    -Shana

    1. Teacher power can move mountains and right now the power of positivity is critical! Folks can go to a bookstore or coffeehouse and learn or even join a twitter chat and learn. The possibilities are limitless!

      I can’t wait to soak it all up at #tcrwp! What a sponge for learning I am . . . (a bit of yoda helping me finish packing!)

      See you soon!

  15. Celena Larkey is my cousin! Say HI for me!

  16. Love your blog! Will be at TC writing next week too. I think I have taken Mary Ehrenworth’s class/es with you before. 😊

    1. Kitty,
      I was in Mary’s Nonfiction section last year and it was so good to write in so many interesting and totally non-boring ways!

      What sections are you in this summer? I will look for you!

  17. Already I’m so jealous I could cry! Have an awesome time and I look forward to hearing more about your learning!

    1. Thanks, Erika
      It’s hard to explain that this is my third year of attending BOTH institutes totally at MY own expense . . . That’s how strongly I feel that I need this learning!

  18. Safe travels, Fran! Can’t wait to see you!

    1. Catherine,
      See you soon!

  19. I love OUR summer adventure, face to face for the first week and via twitter for the second week! See you soon.
    Julieanne

    1. Sometimes, it’s all about WHO you are learning with! Love the LEARNERS that I talk to and with on a regular basis. Our journey is so much fun as we learn together!

Leave a Reply

Doing The Work That Matters

a journey of growing readers & writers

Present Perfect

adventures in multiple tenses

Leadership Connection

from Great Prairie AEA

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna

Middle English

Life as an English teacher leader

steps in the literacy journey

Walking the Path to Literacy Together

arjeha

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Resource - Full

Sharing Ideas, Strategies and Tools

Joel Pedersen

be that #oneperson

adventuresinstaffdevelopment

All Things Literacy! Brianna Parlitsis

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

elsie tries writing

"The problem with people is they forget that that most of the time it's the small things that count." (Said by Finch in All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. These are my small things that count.

I Haven't Learned That Yet

This blog serves to document my path of learning and teaching.

Simply Inspired Teaching

A blog by Kari Yates

Reflections on Leadership and Learning

Sharing my learning experiences

AnnaGCockerille Literacy

The Generative Power of Language: Building Literacy Skills One Word at a Time

Reading to the Core

Just another WordPress.com site

Karen Gluskin

My Teaching Experiences and Qualifications

To Read To Write To Be

Thoughts on learning and teaching

Books and Bytes

Exploring the best of literature and edtech for the middle grades.

To Make a Prairie

A blog about reading, writing, teaching and the joys of a literate life

Raising Voices

Thoughts on Teaching, Learning, and Leading

