#SOL15: THANKFUL!

thankful

As the leaves change colors and begin to fall from the trees,

As the frost decorates my windshield each morning,

As the debate to “turn on the heat” continues (but what if the temperature goes back up to 70?),

As the calendar pages narrow down,

I have a thankful heart!

My Top Ten!

thankful two

for my family far and near,

including the cutest 6 month old (yep, half a year) grandson in the world;

for my friends near and far,

whether face-to-face, on twitter, “slicers” or blog readers;

for our veterans both here and gone,

as well as the four generations of family who have served;

for the curiosity of children (and adults),

who dream, imagine, and create a better world;

for the teachers, administrators, and volunteer boards,

who generously give and give and give their time and hearts;

for the farmers who provide our food,

even though I sometimes resent sharing the roads mile after mile;

for the authors, illustrators, editors, and publishers,

who provide so many choices of materials to read/learn from;

for everyone who shares a minute, a laugh, a kind action,

that brightens up days and / or lives of strangers and those less fortunate;

for this great Earth, our melting pot of people,

the air, wind, water, resources, strength, and renewal:

And most of all, for this moment, this single point in time,

that allows me to share my thoughts and my gratitude!

What are you thankful for?

How will we know?

slice

Tuesday is the day to share a “Slice of Life” with Two Writing Teachers. Thank you, Anna, Betsy, Beth, Dana, Deb, Kathleen, Stacey, and Tara. Check out the writers, readers and teachers here. 

17 responses

  1. Fran – I love this expression of gratitude. It tells so much about YOU! It is also quite poetic. Gratitude for all you share with our community.

    1. Thanks, Dayna! This was fun to write even though I changed the order with almost every item I wrote!

  2. Love this post, Fran. I always take on the gratitude challenge in November. I typically do it on Facebook. Here are some of the most recent things I’ve posted about being thankful for:
    FaceTime — so I can see my daughter when I’m out of town.
    Short security lines at the airport.
    A slow pace on a Saturday.
    My daughter’s calm visit to the dentist.
    My child having strong opinions about books.

    1. Stacey,
      So many things to be thankful for including TSA Pre-Screening and the many milestones that your daughter is achieving!!!

      And SOON! your book!

  3. I love this! I especially love being grateful for “this moment” because without that one, we would not have any of the others.

    1. Thanks, Leigh Anne.
      I really struggled with “another group of people” to add and decided to make a list and “this moment” was on my list in 3 different ways. However, it was originally a long, long list so I quickly eliminated all the things!

      I have a Thanksgiving narrative slice started. Haven’t decided if I need “corroborating evidence” or if I can just go with my “old memories”!!! ❤

  4. What a wonderful slice. I agree with Dayna, what we’re grateful for says so much about who we are. I especially love that you are grateful for this moment and the opportunity to share.
    I’m grateful for my family near and far.
    My friends who share the love of students and learning near and far.
    The opportunity to connect and engage in learning and with learners every day.
    And so much more.
    Grateful for our friendship!

    1. Thanks, Julieanne! See you soon!

      I love your “connect and engage in learning and with learners every day” because that’s also all of us who are learners at many stages!

      and I’m not surprised that you agree with Dayna! ❤

  5. Love your list. There are so many things we all can be thankful for. I am thankful for each new day I am given. It gives me the opportunity to be a better person than I was the day before. I am grateful for a wife who supports me in everything I try and has confidence in me when I don’t feel very confident myself.

    1. WoW! I love the reasons that you use to support your “thankfuls”! I’m thankful that your cat Ned’s heart murmur was not serious.

      I’m also thankful that I learned that a cat’s blood pressure can be determined through its tail! Not sure when I will NEED that info but it’s a perfect “unique” detail that may come in handy with a cat-loving writer!

  6. This is beautiful Fran. I love the window it gives me into your life.

    1. Thanks so much, Lisa!
      Writing this caused several “ahas” as I said, “Yes, it stays” or “GONE!”

      Hope your year is going well!

  7. Like those who posted ahead of me, what a wonderful list of thankfulness. But what I want to comment on is the way you brought the reader in. The repetition of the “As the . . . ” brings the reader closer to your world before we learn what a thankful heart you have. I am a fan of repetition, there is such power in repeating certain words. 🙂

  8. Aw, Fran- this might be one of my favorite posts of yours. Of course, I love that you are focusing on gratitude, but I especially love the poetic words.

    1. Thanks, Allison!
      Such an important time of the year to focus on the wonderful connections we have made in our lives – not so much on the material things! ❤

      Thanks for commenting!

  9. I am thankful that I know YOU and even though we love half a country apart, we can collaborate and inspire from afar!!

    I have a fun Veterans Day celebration planned for Friday! Wish you could
    come but know I’ll blog about it!!

    1. Oh, Sally, I can’t wait to hear what you do on Friday! What fun! I have meetings all day so I KNOW yours would be so inspirational!

Leave a Reply

Doing The Work That Matters

a journey of growing readers & writers

Present Perfect

adventures in multiple tenses

Leadership Connection

from Great Prairie AEA

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna

Middle English

Life as an English teacher leader

steps in the literacy journey

Walking the Path to Literacy Together

arjeha

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Resource - Full

Sharing Ideas and Resources

Joel Pedersen

be that #oneperson

adventuresinstaffdevelopment

All Things Literacy! Brianna Parlitsis

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

elsie tries writing

"The problem with people is they forget that that most of the time it's the small things that count." (Said by Finch in All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. These are my small things that count.

I Haven't Learned That Yet

This blog serves to document my path of learning and teaching.

Simply Inspired Teaching

A blog by Kari Yates

Reflections on Leadership and Learning

Sharing my learning experiences

AnnaGCockerille Literacy

The Generative Power of Language: Building Literacy Skills One Word at a Time

Reading to the Core

Just another WordPress.com site

Karen Gluskin

My Teaching Experiences and Qualifications

