#SOL16: March Challenge Day 4

timeline

It was a Very Good Year

When I was five, it was a very good year.

It was a very good year for me.

Oh the books from the public library I did like,

The rides on my hand-me-down bike,

What fun playing ball in the farmyard

When I was five.

 

When I was fifteen, it was a very good year.

It was a very good year for me.

We were building a new house soon to have color TV.

Dreaming of the choices to come

Ready for real life and to be free

When I was fifteen.

 

When I was twenty-five, it was a very good year.

It was a very good year for me.

Teaching was my life with years of practice,

Learning at college, more graduations and degrees,

Knowing it ALL (Hah!) and enjoying the good life

When I was twenty-five.

 

When I was thirty-five, it was a very good year.

It was a very good year for me.

A transition from sister and aunt to a mother

With all the worries and wonders found in a new life

Anxious and excited about the future he would see

When I was thirty-five.

 

When I was forty-five, it was a very good year.

It was a very good year for me.

After being a teacher, a principal, with curriculum and PD

I wondered when I grew up “What would I be?”

Reading and writing were my work and play

When I was forty-five.

(Adapted from Frank Sinatra’s “It Was A Very Good Year” lyrics)

What was a very good year for you?

slice

Thank you, Anna, Betsy, Beth, Dana, Deb, Kathleen, Stacey, and Tara. Check out the writers, readers and teachers here.  It’s the March Slice of Life Challenge so be ready to read DAILY posts!

 

24 responses

  1. Fran – I love this! This was such a wonderful way for me to start my day. Reading about your years of happiness. Thank you!

    1. You are so welcome! It was just a few of the highlights! I thought it was a good way to close the work week! ❤

  2. Fran, just loved this poem! Such a great scaffold to use – I never thought of it! Love your spirit and joy – off to a great start this Friday with your post. Thank you! Hope you will add mentortextswithlynneandrose to your list of blogs. SOL brought me back to a commitment of blogging every day. So glad to be part of this writing community!

    1. Lynne,
      SOL blogging has helped me in so many ways! The people I’ve met and oh, so many creative ideas from such helpful folks. This community is the best! 🙂

  3. I love the way you are stretching yourself as a writer, Fran – this was such fun to read!

    1. Tara,
      It was also so much fun to write! I butchered his rhythm but that’s why it was “adapted”! THANKS!

  4. I particularly liked the section on being 25. I’m a decade removed, and boy, I did think I knew it all. Now I’m older and realize I don’t. Great work!

    1. Thanks so much! I didn’t fill all the possible decades. I had to pick a stopping point. And yes, what I thought I knew at 25 – wouldn’t even fill the bottom of the bucket! ❤

  5. Such a fun format! Love how you borrowed it from a song. My favorite line is when you “wnondered when you grew up, what would you be”. Isn’t that the truth!

    1. Erin,
      Not sure I know what “I will be” – always evolving – especially in my reading and writing lives!

      Thanks for commenting!

  6. You are so creative and really pushing me to play with structures. Why don’t I shift structures???!!! You are very brave –and I love the poem. My mom love Frank… so I naturally sang along.
    Clare

    1. Change is hard. I am counting and tallying how many “change” ideas I use this month because my target is AT LEAST 25%! THANKS!

  7. This is so fun! I love the idea of using a song as a mentor text! More ideas for writing! Yay!

    1. Songs are text. Pictures are text. So many MORE ideas! ❤

  8. When I started reading, it made me think of a current song, Lukas Graham’s 7 Years, have you heard it? All the good years add up to a very good life.

    1. Many, many memories. Thanks, now I will look for 7 years!

  9. Oooo, I love this! You have me thinking and pondering. What WAS a good year for me?

    1. Cindy,
      I know . . . and the original song had seventeen . . .so you don’t have to do the “5’s” like I did! Thanks!

  10. I love this format! I’ll be singing this all day. Thank you for yet more inspiration, Fran.

    1. Anna,
      Singing . . .
      What joy!!!
      You are so welcome!

  11. Your writing made me nostalgic and proud of it:).

  12. I love this! Reflection is so important, and I love to look back at the highs instead of the lows.

    1. Thanks, Jessie! It was fun to write and could be used to pick any years – I just found the pattern to be “easier”! ❤

Leave a Reply

Doing The Work That Matters

a journey of growing readers & writers

Present Perfect

adventures in multiple tenses

Leadership Connection

from Great Prairie AEA

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna

Middle English

Life as an English teacher leader

steps in the literacy journey

Walking the Path to Literacy Together

arjeha

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Resource - Full

Sharing Ideas, Strategies and Tools

Joel Pedersen

be that #oneperson

adventuresinstaffdevelopment

All Things Literacy! Brianna Parlitsis

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

elsie tries writing

"The problem with people is they forget that that most of the time it's the small things that count." (Said by Finch in All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. These are my small things that count.

I Haven't Learned That Yet

This blog serves to document my path of learning and teaching.

Simply Inspired Teaching

A blog by Kari Yates

Reflections on Leadership and Learning

Sharing my learning experiences

AnnaGCockerille Literacy

The Generative Power of Language: Building Literacy Skills One Word at a Time

Reading to the Core

Just another WordPress.com site

Karen Gluskin

My Teaching Experiences and Qualifications

To Read To Write To Be

Thoughts on learning and teaching

Books and Bytes

Exploring the best of literature and edtech for the middle grades.

To Make a Prairie

A blog about reading, writing, teaching and the joys of a literate life

Raising Voices

Thoughts on Teaching, Learning, and Leading

