#SOL16: March Challenge Day 5 – ah, today

This post idea came from Stacey’s “Be Inspired” section of today’s call for slices.  It’s Michelle’s “ah, today” found here where Michelle Nero from Literacy Learning Zone actually gives credit to

{This go-to easy-format quick-thinking in-the-moment writing idea is compliments to:}                             Rachel Martin at finding joy

March 5

ah, today

today:  i breathe and find joy in this life of mine

today:  is yet another joyful unscheduled Saturday that I am thankful for

want to be:  caught up in work – work work and work at home

blessings:  my grandson, my daughter-in-law, and son

thinking:  planning and plotting how to get dual duty out of this post!

planning:  for a weekend with many tasks marked off the “to do” list!

writing:  daily, taking risks with new formats and loving this habit!

Loving:   more framed pictures on the walls of my grandson

grateful:  for my family, friends and the freedoms we have in our great country!

 

and today {again}: i breathe and find joy in this life of mine!

 

Quick Peak into Process:  My goal today was to write from Stacey’s writing tip and start to finish would be thirty minutes or less.  I read Stacey’s “Be Inspired”, hit the link, and knew that I had a winner. (And it fit in with my risk-taking goal for #SOL16 as well as my week of “pattern writing” to begin the March Challenge.)  I copied the original post and began substituting my own ideas (in a Word document)!  Also thanks to Sally Donnelly for the idea of modeling process!  Add categories, tags, and check preview. Insert calendar photo for today’s date.  My Goals:  Credit to all who inspired the post and to emphasize both product and process (22 minutes from start to now pushing the “publish” button)

Which is your focus?  Product / Process / or both?

When does the priority of your focus shift?  Or does it?

slice

Thank you, Anna, Betsy, Beth, Dana, Deb, Kathleen, Stacey, and Tara. Check out the writers, readers and teachers here.  It’s the March Slice of Life Challenge so be ready to read DAILY posts!

 

 

24 responses

  1. Fran, You inspire me with all of the different formats for writing. AND you make it all look so easy. Thanks for inspiring me!

    1. Christine,
      I’m trying to pay more attention to the ideas I see around me! I’m definitely not saying it is “easy” but after writing for 31 days in March it is always “easier”. You are welcome and I’m so glad that you are finding inspiration!

  2. Really love the process peak at the end! Definitely thinking I’ll add this to my posts for one week of the challenge. I also want to do more pattern writing–your blog is such an inspiration to me.

    1. Elisabeth,
      I loved the process piece when Sally did it – remembering ALL the goals I have for my writing is sometimes so daunting!

      Choosing “pattern writing” has been fun. I don’t want it to be mandated, but if it’s one way to get over the “I don’t know what or how to write, I think it can have a place! 🙂

      THANKS

  3. I’m always about trying new approaches to expand our processes. I love this approach. If I get stuck, I’m coming back here to learn and grow in my approach to writing.

    1. Thanks, Aileen. So many choices available this month in so many slices! What a great learning opportunity!

  4. There is so much inspiration in the many posts in the challenge! Thanks for including your process. I love when authors let us in to the process behind the product – good for writers and good for teachers.

    1. Rose,
      The March #SOL challenge is so perfect for Readers and Writers! So much to learn! 🙂

  5. This:
    today: i breathe and find joy in this life of mine
    Anything that inspires this is just writing gold. Glad you found it and made it, Fran.

    1. Thanks, Tara.
      So much writing gold in #SOL!

  6. You have inspired me to play with structure a bit – I played with some poetic lines in my slice today. Not there yet but trying. Format poetry might work for me…. love yours today! Enjoy that grandson.
    Clare

    1. Clare,
      So much to treasure in this new round of crawling, almost walking, swimming lessons and talking. Approximations . . . accepted in life . . . not so much in schools!

      Thanks for stopping by!

  7. I’m thrilled to see you pushing yourself as a writer, while also pushing the rest of us to write in untraditional ways!

    1. Sarah,
      I am so working on living a writerly life and building up my writing muscles during this March Challenge! Love new things – trying to reduce the fear in others by embracing the change!

  8. This is a great structure that I’m eager to try. I love the content…could almost be my own.

    1. Thanks, Rita.
      I think many of us could have similar posts . . . so many things that we have in common as we liver our readerly and writerly lives in this safe community! 🙂

  9. This is a great format. I think I’ll steal it for my student slicers. I invite you to think about technique and post tomorrow for DigiLit Sunday. You can find the linky man at my blog. A few weeks ago we thought about process vs. product, but I think it warrants more thought.

    1. Margaret,
      I saw yours and Julieanne’s posts on process and product. So much to think about when teaching!

      This is a fun format! ❤

  10. Love that you are trying out different formats, Fran. I love this easy go-to format when I don’t have a “story” slice that I’m ready to share. It helps to focus in the here and now. Today is our first in a loooong time joyful unscheduled Saturday. Such a blessing. As always, I love your additional author notes about the process. You always push yourself to reflect and I love that you share that with us!

    1. Thank you for this idea, Michelle! It was fun, easy, and yet gave me an opportunity to really consider purpose!

      Even on Saturday, I still have to push myself to learn MORE! LOL – never stop learning! ❤

  11. This is a great format, Fran! Thank you for sharing your joy with us!

    1. You are welcome, Catherine! I will be even more joyful on Monday when the temp hits 70!

  12. Once again you lift my practice, Fran. I can’t wait to try the timed writing thing, and to reflect on my practice. You inspire and model. Thankful to get to come along for the ride!

    1. Dayna,
      Again, you are welcome! So much to think about when teachers REQUIRE timed writings on a regular basis . . . how does it feel for adults when it’s only “self-pressure”? So then what happens for our “anxious” students? ❤

Leave a Reply

Doing The Work That Matters

a journey of growing readers & writers

Present Perfect

adventures in multiple tenses

Leadership Connection

from Great Prairie AEA

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna

Middle English

Life as an English teacher leader

steps in the literacy journey

Walking the Path to Literacy Together

arjeha

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Resource - Full

Sharing Ideas, Strategies and Tools

Joel Pedersen

be that #oneperson

adventuresinstaffdevelopment

All Things Literacy! Brianna Parlitsis

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

elsie tries writing

"The problem with people is they forget that that most of the time it's the small things that count." (Said by Finch in All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. These are my small things that count.

I Haven't Learned That Yet

This blog serves to document my path of learning and teaching.

Simply Inspired Teaching

A blog by Kari Yates

Reflections on Leadership and Learning

Sharing my learning experiences

AnnaGCockerille Literacy

The Generative Power of Language: Building Literacy Skills One Word at a Time

Reading to the Core

Just another WordPress.com site

Karen Gluskin

My Teaching Experiences and Qualifications

To Read To Write To Be

Thoughts on learning and teaching

Books and Bytes

Exploring the best of literature and edtech for the middle grades.

To Make a Prairie

A blog about reading, writing, teaching and the joys of a literate life

Raising Voices

Thoughts on Teaching, Learning, and Leading

chartchums

Smarter Charts from Marjorie Martinelli & Kristine Mraz

