#SOL16: March Challenge Day 15-Pi Day

By the Numbers

3.14

Yesterday was just another day.

But it was Pi Day – 3.14159265359

Dark and dreary, thanks Daylight Savings Time!

Waiting for the fog to clear.

Couldn’t see the trees on the other side of the driveway.

7:10 and time to go.

52 degrees

Fog was not predicted to burn off until 10 am

Un-joyful driving today!

1 car leaving the driveway

3 deer crossing the road

Not even 1 was curious enough to stop and look

All 3 sauntered across the road as if they own it.

Hmmm. . . I guess they do!

1 stop sign

1 driver anxiously peering both ways

Who would know if a vehicle was approaching?

Go for it! Just go!

1 wet county road

visibility about 0

less than 1 electic pole at a time

2 miles later

4 red eyes about 20 feet away

2 white tails flip up

Will they run towards the road?  Or towards safety and the trees?

8 legs poised for flight

1 driver pounding on the car horn:  beep, beep, beep!

Warning heeded

8 legs run away from the road

2 lights heading towards me

First car I’ve met

Brief glimpse of driver and zoom it’s gone

Traveling on

A car with 0 headlights

Seriously? in this soup?

A total of 27 cars with 0 headlights in fog so thick it seems to creep inside my car.

Able to finally relax upon arrival at work

After 5 green lights and only

1 red light on this

1 grey and gloomy Pi Morning!

How important are numbers in your writing?

Where and when do you use numbers rather than the words for numbers?


Process:

I have seen several posts during the March Challenge where numbers have been emphasized and yesterday seemed like just that morning – something positive out of the frustration from the weather!  I jotted down # of items yesterday before my car was even turned off . .  collecting ideas for my next slice on a post it while sitting in my car! This morning I pulled out the post it and started typing.  I noticed that when the ideas began to wane, I immediately went to categories and tags, not wanting to waste even 1 minute. Draft completed, process begun, and not an image/picture in mind.  No slices read yet this morning. Quickly trying to capture ideas and numbers.  Noticing that I had to retype most numbers as I originally recorded them as words. I had to go look up “pi” as that number even beyond the standard 3.14 had to be recorded somewhere today in this post. Rereading, revising, editing.  Still no picture/image so I decided to make my  numbers blue and bold. Reviewing with 1 cup of coffee in hand! ARRGGGHH – can’t stand verb tenses!  Preview one more time. Must publish – time’s up! And it’s dark and dreary Day 2!


 

slice of life 2016

Thank you, Anna, Betsy, Beth, Dana, Deb, Kathleen, Stacey, and Tara. Check out the writers, readers and teachers here.  It’s the March Slice of Life Challenge so be ready to read DAILY posts!

 

 

 

16 responses

  1. Fran, I love how you intertwined literacy and math. Great post. Your poems inspire me to try that genre more!

    1. Thanks, Christine. I have many very literate math friends so this one was for them! I love the words but absolutely couldn’t do literacy without SOME numbers!

      Try some poetry – it’s a great month to take risks! 🙂

  2. I drove through super thick fog yesterday morning, too. I have no idea if I passed deer or not. I couldn’t see squat. It never ceases to amaze me when people drive without their lights on in fog, or in the dark for that matter. Glad you made it to work safely

    1. Yesterday’s fog was no “fog on cat feet” – it was super thick!

      I know. Just when I think I’ve seen it all and that drivers can’t / won’t do anything sillier, there is a day like yesterday. No lights and foggy – What are you thinking?

  3. No image, because you couldn’t see through the dense fog. 🙂 We seem to be having more foggy days this year. So glad the deer took flight and not into your car. I’ve been wondering where I will find the numbers to write about. Still thinking.

    1. Oh, I love your idea “because I couldn’t see through the fog!

      I thought I would find numbers on Daylight Savings – Spring Forward. That was a surprise as clocks and numbers seem to be a driving force!!!

  4. Loved the incorporation of numbers throughout your piece, Fran. Shows life is a balanced mixture of math and English.

    1. Life is truly a balance of math and English! So important to consider the balance and I am betting you also have a new respect for SOME numbers as well! 🙂

  5. You are a marvel of ingenuity – well done, my friend.

    1. Thanks, Tara.
      Still taking some risks on “new” ideas!

  6. How fun! I’m with Tara – another innovation.

    1. Such total fun . . . but a real pie would have been nice, too. 2 crusts, 375 oven, 1 pint of gooseberries – I do believe I could continue!!! Thanks, Anna!

  7. I like the way the blue emphasizes the numbers.

    1. Thanks! It’s my favorite so it often shows up! I knew red would totally send the wrong message! ❤

  8. Love this By the Numbers post. Enjoyed reading about your process and that final comment – dark and dreary day 2!

    1. Thanks, Ramona!
      It has been so much fun to literally “spy on myself as a writer” and think about how I actually DO these posts! ❤

Leave a Reply

Doing The Work That Matters

a journey of growing readers & writers

Present Perfect

adventures in multiple tenses

Leadership Connection

from Great Prairie AEA

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna

Middle English

Life as an English teacher leader

steps in the literacy journey

Walking the Path to Literacy Together

arjeha

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Resource - Full

Sharing Ideas, Strategies and Tools

Joel Pedersen

be that #oneperson

adventuresinstaffdevelopment

All Things Literacy! Brianna Parlitsis

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

elsie tries writing

"The problem with people is they forget that that most of the time it's the small things that count." (Said by Finch in All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. These are my small things that count.

I Haven't Learned That Yet

This blog serves to document my path of learning and teaching.

Simply Inspired Teaching

A blog by Kari Yates

Reflections on Leadership and Learning

Sharing my learning experiences

AnnaGCockerille Literacy

The Generative Power of Language: Building Literacy Skills One Word at a Time

Reading to the Core

Just another WordPress.com site

Karen Gluskin

My Teaching Experiences and Qualifications

To Read To Write To Be

Thoughts on learning and teaching

Books and Bytes

Exploring the best of literature and edtech for the middle grades.

To Make a Prairie

A blog about reading, writing, teaching and the joys of a literate life

Raising Voices

Thoughts on Teaching, Learning, and Leading

chartchums

Smarter Charts from Marjorie Martinelli & Kristine Mraz

