#SOL16: March Challenge Day 19 NYC

Riverside_Church

I’m in New York City!  (Can you see that look of awe in my eyes?)  Soon I will be sitting in Riverside Church . . . eagerly anticipating this gift of a day!

Saturday is the 90th Saturday Reunion at Teachers College Reading and Writing Project at Columbia! About 5000 of my #TCRWP friends (new, current, and not YET met)!

Learning, laughing and listening into conversations with some of the brightest minds in literacy!

Before That

Before that, I was eating Chinese takeout and enjoying brilliant conversation.

Before that, I was completing “homework” in the form of responding to a survey and suggested changes.

Before that, I was out for a fresh slice of pie, a walk, a visit to the dog park, fresh air and exercise in New York City.

Before that, I was in Everett Lounge, Zankel Hall, completing a spot of work, recharging electrical devices, and gearing up for the weekend!

Before that, I was so excited to have my feet on the ground. Now it was time to hunt for a restroom and then off to ground transportation for a cab ride to 525 West 120th Street on the Upper West Side of Manhattan.

Before that, It was looking out the plane window, seeing houses in rows like dominoes some in straight lines, but rows and rows of houses. Sometimes curved lines..and then turbulence ….crosswinds. Oh, stomach hold on! Color, shapes, diagonals. So many patterns from this bouncy house ride.

Before that, Reading, and then an announcement, “25 minutes out.” “Prepare cabin.” Descending. Time for ears to pop.

Before that, Coffee. Cruising at 37,000 feet and COFFEE! My first cup for the day! Starbucks coffee… Maybe five ounces in the cup. Inhaling the scent… 1 hour and 30 minutes of flight time left. Thinking about advantages of nonstop flight…. Time saved. Actually cheapest by the time I booked it!

Before that, Pushing back from the terminal. Lift off! Noticing how green the grass is from the air. Nature’s way of celebrating St. Patrick’s Day yesterday.

Before that, Boarding the plane. Chatting about Vera Bradley patterns. Stuffing bag into overhead bin. Settling in and nesting with devices at the ready.

Before that, Listening to multiple messages about the flight. Before that, Messages, both email and Voxer about joke book possibilities.

Before that, Logging into Amazon and buying joke books.

“What do you call a pig in Ontario?”

“Canadian bacon”

“What do you call a dog in a beauty salon?”

“A sham-poodle”

Before that, checking into the world of Twitter and Voxer. Sending and receiving messages. Noting the number of people on devices. All but the two girls reading joke books from National Geographic!

Before that, checking the screen for my flight and proceeding to Terminal C, Gate 1 at the Des Moines International Airport.

Before that, picking up bags, phone and ID, and asking the gentleman in front of me if that’s his phone still in the bowl in front of war my bags were on the conveyer belt.

Before that, walking into terminal, proceeding to expedited screening with three in line not fifty plus in line extending back to escalator, set 2 bags on conveyor, put phone and ID into bowl, step through screening.

Before that, Driving to airport, getting ticket for long term parking, parking and taking picture of location. Attaching it to calendar for return home.

Before that, Loading the car.

Before that, Verifying that I have TSA pre-screening and checking to see that the driver’s license is valid.

Before that, shower, repack, organize power for phone and computer only.

Before that, The br-r-r-ing of the 5 am wake up call.

Before that, I checked the clock…4:43.

Before that, I checked the clock….3:37.

Before that, I was sound asleep and dreaming of my upcoming learning at Teachers College.


Process … I made notes throughout the day after checking my “Before That”post from last year inspired by Sally Donnelly. I typed this up last evening so it would be ready to go. Categories, tags, etc. Format looking so VERY funky – even on preview! No Text box to type inside of. Technology FAILED again this week!

slice of life 2016

Thank you, Anna, Betsy, Beth, Dana, Deb, Kathleen, Stacey, and Tara. Check out the writers, readers and teachers here.  It’s the March Slice of Life Challenge so be ready to read DAILY posts!

36 responses

  1. Fran, heading there as I type! I think we slicers should have worn the slice logo so we can meet up!
    I love how you traveled backwards in time on this post.

    1. Darn! That would have been a great idea – slicer logo! Hope you had a wonderful learning day!

    1. So fantabulous to attend sessions and enjoy a late afternoon lunch and slicer meet up!

  2. I’m so jealous of all of you going to this! I hope you will share your learning so that we can learn, too.

    1. Janie,
      This is only my third Saturday Reunion but wow, what a learning day!

  3. Have fun! I love this backwards format and have seen it a couple of times now… might be time to move forwards and try it myself!

    1. Donna, it’s a fun format but it can get pretty darned lengthy if you have a big day!

  4. Kathleen Neagle Sokolowski | Reply

    I love the structure, following your day backwards! The sun is shining here in NY! Have a fantastic day!

    1. The weather was perfect! The learning was even more impressive!

  5. Sounds like you are all set for an exciting day. Enjoy, Fran.

    1. Bob,
      All the brilliant people at TCWRP were amazing today!

  6. Learning and friends, can this day get any richer? Enjoy!

  7. Have LOTS of fun!!! I love this format! Enjoy!!!

    1. Michelle,
      IT was a great learning day today (as expected)!

  8. Can’t wait to read your Tweets and posts about the reunion! Many thanks for sharing!

    1. Such an enjoyable learning day, Susan!

  9. Have a great time. I am eagerly awaiting the posts where you share all your learning.

    1. Erin,
      They will be forthcoming!

  10. soooooo jealous of the great day you are surely having and loving your slice format!

    1. Erika – great day. Trying to think about a starting point! 🙂

  11. I love the ‘before that’ structure and remember your post from last year! So happy you are in NYC. Thinking of all the adventures in learning and friendship

    1. Thinking of you, so much learning to share!

  12. I really like how you retraced your steps. It reminded me of the time we did a birthday party for my daughter all backwards. We picked kids up in their pi’s, had breakfast, played games, opened presents, ate cake, etc. The kids still talk about that birthday party.

    1. It’ a nice way to vary the structure! ❤ THANKS!

  13. What a fun post and a fun day! I’m hoping for a recap “after that”. Enjoy!

    1. Amy,
      That’s a great thought. I’m not sure what format will arise from today!

  14. Looking forward to reading your posts –we have to make there one of these weekends. We are so close!! Love the format today.
    Clare

    1. Yes, you should. . . It’s a hard day of making choices to “divide and conquer” or just attend the same sessions for the great debrief time afterwards!

  15. You never fail to inspire.

  16. My favorite part was when you kept checking the clock before your 5:00 AM alarm – so fun to be excited about a great trip!!!

  17. This is a terrific format, Fran! I’m exhausted from reading about your busy morning. I’m sorry I was headed in the opposite direction and missed seeing you. Looking forward to reading about everything you learned!

    1. Catherine,
      The day far exceeded my expectations – which were quite high! I have much to write about!

  18. Love the format – you sure had a hectic day! Hope you had a wonderful time at the reunion!

Leave a Reply

Present Perfect

adventures in multiple tenses

Leadership Connection

from Great Prairie AEA

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna

Middle English

Life as an English teacher leader

steps in the literacy journey

Walking the Path to Literacy Together

arjeha

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Resource - Full

Sharing Ideas and Resources

Joel Pedersen

be that #oneperson

adventuresinstaffdevelopment

All Things Literacy! Brianna Parlitsis

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

elsie tries writing

"The problem with people is they forget that that most of the time it's the small things that count." (Said by Finch in All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. These are my small things that count.

I Haven't Learned That Yet

This blog serves to document my path of learning and teaching.

Simply Inspired Teaching

A blog by Kari Yates

Reflections on Leadership and Learning

Sharing my learning experiences

AnnaGCockerille Literacy

The Generative Power of Language: Building Literacy Skills One Word at a Time

Reading to the Core

Just another WordPress.com site

Karen Gluskin

My Teaching Experiences and Qualifications

To Read To Write To Be

Thoughts on learning and teaching

