#SOL16: March Challenge 30 – The First Year

During my first year when I was learning to walk and talk with my basic needs cared for by my parents:

Eisenhower was President.

Swaps won the Kentucky Derby.

Narinder Kapany (England) developed fiber optics.

Gunsmoke debuted on CBS and went on to be television’s longest-running western.

Rosa Parks refused to sit in the back of the bus.

son

During my son’s first year when he was learning to walk and talk with his basic needs cared for by his parents:

George H. Bush was President.

Strike the Gold won the Kentucky Derby.

Boris Yeltsin became the first freely elected president of Russian Republic.

Ninety-nine percent of U.S. households had at least one radio, with the average owning five.

The Persian Gulf War ended April 3rd.

grandson

Thus far during my grandson’s first year

when he is learning to walk and talk

with his basic needs cared for by his parents:

Barack Obama is President.

The Kentucky Derby has not yet been run.

Space X launched the first reusable rocket into orbit and recovered it.

Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood and Sarah and Duck are PBS shows for children.

The President and his family have visited Cuba.


Process/Goals:

I began with inspiration from Betsy’s call for slices yesterday called Timeless.  However after spring break with the family, I wanted to narrow the time frame a bit so I decided to go with events from the first year of three generations of our family.  Deciding on a format to showcase the three generations took the most work as there were tons of online resources for “data” facts. (Fun way to think about what’s important!)


 

slice of life 2016

Thank you, Anna, Betsy, Beth, Dana, Deb, Kathleen, Stacey, and Tara. Check out the writers, readers and teachers here.  It’s the March Slice of Life Challenge; posts are DAILY!

 

16 responses

  1. Very cool — you are so creative in how you write — always trying new things. I learned a lot about structure and process during this challenge. I love what you picked in each -says a lot about what you value and what society valued at that time. It would make a great research family project for students – new way to structure it.
    Clare

    1. Clare,
      It would be fun to see the “facts” chosen by different ages and stages of folks! I had to include the Derby as that is a huge part of my daughter-in-law’s family history and since I’ve been to the track now a few times!

      Trying to grow and stretch my writing wings! ❤

  2. Love this format! This would be great for students to research their first year and perhaps the parent and grandparent too. What amazing changes have taken place over the course of the three generations!

    1. It was fun but also hard – how to think of the “Not YETS”! As in not yet, internet, computers, or even color TV for me. LOL!

  3. Interesting post. I like going back in history. It’s a great way to keep track of how far we’ve come. 🙂

    1. Lisa,
      I so agree! And also the fact that we were never as aware of “the world” when I was little! LOL

      1. I know! I’m so glad that I got to have a childhood of playing kick the can and hide and seek. I’m sad my kids don’t get to do that.

      2. Lisa,
        Yes, life is different! Need to make sure “play” is important for all kiddos!

  4. This is so neat, Fran. It is fun to look back and see what was happening during milestones in our lives.

    1. Bob,
      It was fun! I’d like to pick certain years and look for changes (1 from every decade still seems like a lot)!

  5. I bet the best part of writing this slice was looking through the facts from that time. I have always loved to read those!

    1. Erin,
      The facts were so interesting that I almost forgot what my task was. I am thinking that comparing the differences for the six of us diblings in my family would even be fun!

  6. So fun!!! I love the format. One can learn so much by just those few facts shared about life at year one. Side note – my students enjoyed your poem about being at the park with your grandson!! Thanks for modeling line breaks and moving on the page. YOO helped my 3rd graders to write some fun poems!!

    1. You are so welcome! Poetry should always be FUN! ❤

  7. I love this…so I naturally will be stealing your idea for my sixth graders. 🙂

    1. PLEASE, DO! I am a firm believe that stealing is the best thing when you like an idea! ❤

Leave a Reply

Doing The Work That Matters

a journey of growing readers & writers

Present Perfect

adventures in multiple tenses

Leadership Connection

from Great Prairie AEA

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna

Middle English

Life as an English teacher leader

steps in the literacy journey

Walking the Path to Literacy Together

arjeha

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Resource - Full

Sharing Ideas and Resources

Joel Pedersen

be that #oneperson

adventuresinstaffdevelopment

All Things Literacy! Brianna Parlitsis

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

elsie tries writing

"The problem with people is they forget that that most of the time it's the small things that count." (Said by Finch in All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. These are my small things that count.

I Haven't Learned That Yet

This blog serves to document my path of learning and teaching.

Simply Inspired Teaching

A blog by Kari Yates

Reflections on Leadership and Learning

Sharing my learning experiences

AnnaGCockerille Literacy

The Generative Power of Language: Building Literacy Skills One Word at a Time

Reading to the Core

Just another WordPress.com site

Karen Gluskin

My Teaching Experiences and Qualifications

