#SOL16: Ready to Travel Again

unpacking.jpeg

Two carry-on bags

One on wheels

One that lived on my shoulder or by my side at #TCRWP.

The Vera Bradley bag . . .

Notebook,

Pens,

Markers,

Mac,

Phone,

Power strip with five plugs,

Killer Whales,

On Market Street,

DIY Literacy,

companions for the last two weeks.

Empty now and ready to be refilled.

What will be the next adventure?

The roller carry on . . .

What treasures you carried!

Books,

Books,

And more books,

Who’s Doing the Work,

The Journey is Everything,

Craft Moves – 

all accompanied me from Iowa.

New items . . .

Reading Chart post its and

Read Aloud post its,

Plus receipts to be filed.

Minimal space for

Maximum learning.

Clothes and shoes all re-closeted.

It’s time to repack to be ready for the next adventure.

All pockets emptied.

Refilling the shampoo.

Restocking the personal items.

Ready for the next adventure.

Ready to travel again.

Next destination?

Planned?  Unplanned?

Ready! 

 

unpacking

 

slice of life 2016

Thank you, Betsy, Beth, Dana, Deb, Kathleen, Lisa, Melanie, and Stacey. Check out the writers, readers and teachers here.  Thank you for this weekly forum!

 

23 responses

  1. Just so you know, I’m a Vera Bradley fan, too! 🙂 Thanks for sharing your adventure with all of us!

    1. Lisa, You are welcome! Do you have a specific pattern you like???

      1. I just bought a purse that’s blue, green, and white striped. I don’t know the name of the pattern, but there were a lot of flowered prints to choose from. The colors in this one just seemed so relaxing. I had to get it. 🙂

  2. What a creative way to share your adventure!

    1. Thanks, so many ways to think about any and all of our resources – – – especially “TIME”.

  3. Can’t wait to read about your next adventure, Fran. You always have such interesting and useful things to share. I guess I should start getting organized for our trip.

    1. I love comparing travel notes . . . I have a big one the end of August. More on that SOON! ❤

  4. Sounds like fun! And love your book choices too!

    1. Amy,
      They are great books! So many new ones available right now!

  5. I love that you listed those “important” things, Fran, the books! Just a month ago I was at the beach, so now the bags are empty, and ready, as you’ve written. Exciting to imagine, right? Great post.

    1. Linda,
      The books are always necessary. Several are on the kindle, but some have to be real page turners! It’s a requirement!!!

  6. I hope your next adventure is soon! Your TC adventure was definitely work too. It is funny how when we travel our priorities shift or clarify in packing and unpacking.

    1. Erika,
      There’s a lesson somewhere about how books multiply to fill the available space! LOL!

  7. Are you going to ILA? I’ll be at NerdCampMI next week. I love to travel, so I don’t mind packing at all. I hope you get to spend some relaxing time at home, too. Enjoy the rest of summer!

    1. Jennifer,
      Sadly, no to ILA. July is my family month! Looking forward to a variety of visits.

      I have NerdCampMI on my bucket list. It just sounds like FUN!

  8. Thanks Fran for all the packing suggestions. I’m borrowing your list 🙂
    Bonnie

    1. Bonnie,
      You are welcome!

  9. Have bags, will travel should be your mantra. In fact, I think I may have to adopt that mantra too. My bag is nearly packed and ready to send me to California where I get to babysit my 18 month granddaughter for about 10 days. I hope you have a trip planned to see your grandson soon.

    1. Elsie,
      Yes, family trips are up next! I love that! Have bags will travel!

  10. I am getting ready to pack up for ILA 16. I have to tell you that packing is not on my fav list. I think I think too much about it. Your poem lightened my load.

    1. Carol,
      I think packing is half the fun! It’s like a puzzle. I’ll be watching for Tweets from ILA16!

  11. Thinking about packing tomorrow! You have inspired me as always!

    1. Julieanne,
      It’s so hard to pack for cross country travel – can’t take every book you want the author to sign . . . also can’t buy every book you want the author to sign unless you ship books home. (That’s why I loved ILA and NCTE literally in neighboring states last year!)

Leave a Reply

Doing The Work That Matters

a journey of growing readers & writers

Present Perfect

adventures in multiple tenses

Leadership Connection

from Great Prairie AEA

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna

Middle English

Life as an English teacher leader

steps in the literacy journey

Walking the Path to Literacy Together

arjeha

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Resource - Full

Sharing Ideas, Strategies and Tools

Joel Pedersen

be that #oneperson

adventuresinstaffdevelopment

All Things Literacy! Brianna Parlitsis

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

elsie tries writing

"The problem with people is they forget that that most of the time it's the small things that count." (Said by Finch in All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. These are my small things that count.

I Haven't Learned That Yet

This blog serves to document my path of learning and teaching.

Simply Inspired Teaching

A blog by Kari Yates

Reflections on Leadership and Learning

Sharing my learning experiences

AnnaGCockerille Literacy

The Generative Power of Language: Building Literacy Skills One Word at a Time

Reading to the Core

Just another WordPress.com site

Karen Gluskin

My Teaching Experiences and Qualifications

To Read To Write To Be

Thoughts on learning and teaching

Books and Bytes

Exploring the best of literature and edtech for the middle grades.

To Make a Prairie

A blog about reading, writing, teaching and the joys of a literate life

Raising Voices

Thoughts on Teaching, Learning, and Leading

