#SOL16: Remembering 9/11

Sharing a Collection of Resources today after the 15 year anniversay:

In the news

On Facebook from the Westport Library,  “We are live streaming “Healing through Art & Words” with authors Nora Raleigh Baskin, Gae Polisner, Jewell Parker Rhodes, Wendy Mills, and Lauren Tarshis.” (Description here)

The New York Times

New Books

9.11.JPG

Interviews:

Towers Falling

The Memory of Things 

Two Writing Teachers – Stacey Shubitz – Remembrance Ideas

What to Read Aloud?  Sally says for 3rd grade  . . . Seven and a half tons of Steel

Nerdy Bookcast – Episode 3

NCTE online – Dear Teachers  – Letters to Another Hero  (found on Twitter)

From my sister who lost a dear friend. . .

Quilt squares created by friends/family of Nina Bell, RIP 9/11

quilt squares.jpg

A story about the quilt “in the making” from Sherry. “Remembering 9/11. RIP Nina Bell. I was fortunate to find an archive of an article on a quilt that my mother, Mary Marek, made. It was created with pictures, thoughts, impressions of Nina’s friends across the US and abroad. The article was written by my sister-in-law, Mary Marek, who used to write for the Kalona News in Iowa.

From my blog post archives

The Survivor Tree

9/11 In Remembrance (The Museum and a Song)

Reading and Writing Instruction: Paired Mentor Texts

What do you remember from 9/11?

Why is it important to remember?

slice of life

Thank you, Betsy, Beth, Dana, Deb, Kathleen, Lisa, Melanie, and Stacey for this weekly forum. Check out the writers, readers and teachers here. 

Today, I just needed a place to “collect and store my ideas” and not write long about any of them!

Also, love this picture – I wanted to add it to the comments – more study needed to figure that out!  Hartford, CT Flag of Honor with every person’s name . . .

flag of honor Hartford CT.jpg

 

 

22 responses

  1. As I read through 9/11 posts it’s hard for me to believe it happened 15 years ago. It’s still so present in my mind. And it’s hard for metro realize that my students were born many years past the tragedy. Thanks for sharing the resources. I always come across something new. ~Amy

    1. I agree. It doesn’t “feel” like 15 years. And it’s so hard to know what conversations should be like for students. If they don’t have the context of the World Trade Center bombing (1), it’s hard to understand some of the travel policies!

  2. I was really thinking a lot about September 11 more this weekend than in other years, so your post spoke to me. A great way to collect ideas and thoughts.

    1. Erika,
      I thought this was a good time for others to add their own stories. I was a bit shocked when a New Englander talked about 9/11 as if it didn’t affect anyone in the Midwest. Not so! Knowing just one, brought the tragedy to life! ❤

  3. I remember the clear blue sky that day. Thank you for the resources! Thank you for sharing.

    1. Michelle, you are welcome! So many quality resources to sift through!

  4. 9/11 was a defining moment for this generation, and I’m not sure I like the definition. It’s still so fresh and frightening that I have a hard time talking about it with my students. Yesterday I used a Wonderopolis post on heroes. Then we wrote about heroes. It was a small thing. Thanks for sharing all these resources. And for the quilt story. Making art is one way to help each other process the pain.

    1. Margaret,
      The teachers as heroes letters from the authors were new to me. I had chills after the Sunday news shows featured the museum. I couldn’t write this on Sunday. Still too new and hurtful.

  5. This is a fantastic collection of 9/11 resources for educators. Thank you for sharing it, Fran.

    1. There are so many sources, Stacey, but it was nice to see the choices available this year.

    2. I agree with Stacey. Excited to explore these links later today.

      1. Lisa, I loved that Stacey could plan a year ahead for her post. I would never be able to remember where I had put that draft. I guess I will have to go back and try Evernote again!!!

  6. Kathy and I were talking over the weekend and we can’t believe that it has been 15 years. Hopefully sources such as these will remind us of that day and inform those who were too young or not yet born of the tragedy we faced and that someone doesn’t need to have super power to be a hero. Thanks for these resources Fran.

    1. Heroes are found in so many places. You are welcome!

  7. Thanks for sharing all of these resources. I have seen them all, but it is great to have them all collected in one spot. We will save this to share. I remember the day for many reasons. I was touched by the tragedy and this day is always a difficult reminder of what was lost.
    Clare

    1. You are welcome, Clare. I’m still working on my photo essay from Rome. It’s hard to make decisions when my message could go several ways. Obviously I need more drive time tbinking.

  8. Both you and I reflected on this moment in our country’s history. With enough time gone by, I was able to reflect.

    1. Sally it was so interesting that after conversations, I actually had more thoughts between and about some of these resources. It’s still such a tough topic!

  9. What a great collection of resources you have put together!

    1. Thanks, Leigh Anne. So many aspects to remember.

  10. Wow, Fran. This is a COLLECTION! I was distraught and unsettled and upset all weekend remembering the events of 9/11. I saw the film, SULLY on that day. It turned out to be extremely moving and relevant since many thought that American Airlines plane was another 9/11. So much emotion. I will look forward to examining this rich resource you’ve shared. Thank you! And yes, we are ever different and will never forget.

    1. Dayna,
      I can’t wait to see Sully because that was such a positive experience. But I agree and maybe because it was the weekend – it was such an unsettled weekend. Maybe because it was the 15 year point and I had been reading so much more about that day. Or maybe because I had been on planes more lately!

      At any rate, you’re welcome . . . enjoy the resources!

Leave a Reply

Present Perfect

adventures in multiple tenses

Leadership Connection

from Great Prairie AEA

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna

Middle English

Life as an English teacher leader

steps in the literacy journey

Walking the Path to Literacy Together

arjeha

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Resource - Full

Sharing Ideas and Resources

Joel Pedersen

be that #oneperson

adventuresinstaffdevelopment

All Things Literacy! Brianna Parlitsis

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

elsie tries writing

"The problem with people is they forget that that most of the time it's the small things that count." (Said by Finch in All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. These are my small things that count.

I Haven't Learned That Yet

This blog serves to document my path of learning and teaching.

Simply Inspired Teaching

A blog by Kari Yates

Reflections on Leadership and Learning

Sharing my learning experiences

AnnaGCockerille Literacy

The Generative Power of Language: Building Literacy Skills One Word at a Time

Reading to the Core

Just another WordPress.com site

Karen Gluskin

My Teaching Experiences and Qualifications

To Read To Write To Be

Thoughts on learning and teaching

