#SOL16: October

When you say “October” what are you thinking of?

October.jpg

Is it your most favorite month?

What images are in your mind?

Plain . . .

oct-two

OR

Decorated . . .

oct one.jpg

Is it the harvest season?

Soybeans . . . OR corn . . .

Or the plowing that comes after?

oct-three

Farming

Checking the weather

… rain?  Did he say rain?

Or the thirty one days of fun?

Which of these match you?

For me, October is the month of birthdays . . .

BD.jpg

Pat

Mom

Josh

Joe

Jess

Sudharshan

To name just a few from the immediate family.

October is a month of 31 days packed with fun, football, and food as we meet and celebrate . . . every day!

What do you like best about October?

slice of life

Thank you, Betsy, Beth, Dana, Deb, Kathleen, Lisa, Melanie, and Stacey for this weekly forum. Check out the writers, readers and teachers here. 

17 responses

  1. Everything pumpkin! And October birthdays abound in our family, too. Whenever one of the kids would bring home a potential serious boyfriend or girlfriend someone would always ask if they were born in October – a sure sign of how serious the relationship was!

    1. Rose, that’s my daughter-in-law, too. Everything pumpkin!

      Love that question about when they were born! Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

  2. <My goodness, your October is jam packed! Enjoy all of it, Fran.

    1. Yes, it is a busy month. It would be fun to have 31 days with my grandson . . . ❤

  3. Fall is my favorite season. I love the crisp air and sweater weather.

    1. There’s something about that crisp fresh air that is unique to Fall. And I agree that sweater weather is just around the corner!

  4. I just wrote about October, too, Fran, a special month of the seasons, and my birthday month, too. We also have several other family birthdays! I love it all!

    1. Such a special month! Enjoy your birthday for sure!

  5. For me October is a month of anniversaries. Kathy and I celebrate 36 years together today. My nephew and niece share their second today, They were also married on the 4th. My other nephew and niece will celebrate their anniversary later this month. I just love the spicy smells of October as well.

    1. Wow! You do have many anniversaries to celebrate!

      I hadn’t thought of October as spicy but I sure do like that descriptor! ❤

  6. Sweatshirts and pumpkin flavored coffee!

    1. Oh, Jennie! I love almost everything pumpkin . . . but don’t mess with my coffee! It’s black . . . plain . . . dull . . . boring! LOL!

  7. Lots of fall and October posts today! Check out Rose and Linda if you haven’t. I love making soup and October signals the beginning of soup season. I also love pumpkin picking and day long fires on a chilly day. Thanks for getting me to slow down and appreciate the season.
    Clare

    1. YES to soup season . . . that was my grocery shopping. Stocking up on some basics so I can pull together a “stone” soup if needed! Thanks for the tip on Rose and Linda’s posts. Heading there! ❤

  8. I can’t help but think of trick or treaters. Especially the little ones.

  9. For me October still brings to mind New England foliage, cool days, and glorious smells, even though none of these hold true for my Octobers here. I guess October is for memories for me now:) Thanks for making me think.

    1. I think tonight’s wind and rain is going to wipe out much of our foliage . . . it’s a “bucketsful” kind of night. Glad that you have the memories. So sad that you don’t see those. 😦

Leave a Reply

Doing The Work That Matters

a journey of growing readers & writers

Present Perfect

adventures in multiple tenses

Leadership Connection

from Great Prairie AEA

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna

Middle English

Life as an English teacher leader

steps in the literacy journey

Walking the Path to Literacy Together

arjeha

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Resource - Full

Sharing Ideas, Strategies and Tools

Joel Pedersen

be that #oneperson

adventuresinstaffdevelopment

All Things Literacy! Brianna Parlitsis

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

elsie tries writing

"The problem with people is they forget that that most of the time it's the small things that count." (Said by Finch in All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. These are my small things that count.

I Haven't Learned That Yet

This blog serves to document my path of learning and teaching.

Simply Inspired Teaching

A blog by Kari Yates

Reflections on Leadership and Learning

Sharing my learning experiences

AnnaGCockerille Literacy

The Generative Power of Language: Building Literacy Skills One Word at a Time

Reading to the Core

Just another WordPress.com site

Karen Gluskin

My Teaching Experiences and Qualifications

To Read To Write To Be

Thoughts on learning and teaching

Books and Bytes

Exploring the best of literature and edtech for the middle grades.

To Make a Prairie

A blog about reading, writing, teaching and the joys of a literate life

Raising Voices

Thoughts on Teaching, Learning, and Leading

