#SOLSC17: Brave

Today is Day 1 of my fourth #SOLSC so I must celebrate my #OneLittleWord (#OLW) Brave.

brave-word-art

What is brave in 2017?

Brave is taking a risk, being a bit fearful of the outcome, and YET choosing to move forward with a decision or task!

Brave is writing every day in March with fellow slicers.

Brave is speaking up in defense of others and asking for action to protect our citizens (threats on Jewish Community Centers).

Brave is standing tall with friends when it’s the right thing to do.

Brave is defending choices that one may not make for one’s own self, but leaves it as a viable option for others.

Brave is that spot in one’s stomach that hurts but YET one persists and follows the heart because it is the right thing to do.

Brave is asking questions when everyone else is silent.

Brave is speaking out when bullies persist.

Brave is writing and calling legislators when their actions are harmful.

“Brave means feeling afraid and doing it anyway.   Brave means saying NO when those around you want you to say yes.  Brave means taking a leap of faith even when you’re not sure how things will turn out.   Brave means getting up and walking out into the sunshine even when the circumstances of your life make you want to stay in the dark.    Brave is shouting out loud and brave is also staying quiet.    Brave is when you stay true to your heart.    Your brave is different from my brave.   When you find the place inside you where your truest desires meet your deepest trepidation, that’s where you’ll find your brave.” (Erika Petrelli, Quora)

Have you seen any BRAVE in your life?

After two months of 2017, what is the status of your #OLW?

slice of life

Thank you, Betsy, Beth, Deb, Kathleen, Lanny, Lisa, Melanie, and Stacey for this weekly forum and the #SOLSC that runs from March 1 to the 31st. Check out the writers, readers and teachers here. 


Reader Bonus:

How I found my #OLW:  #SOL17:  #OLW

“What it means to be brave?”  Kimberly Davis Ted Talk

Have you noticed the quote on the background of my blog posts?

18 responses

  1. Great thoughts! I really enjoyed the Ted Talk by Kimberly Davis. I think about times in my life when I knew I had to be brave…and was pretty sure I would vomit before I got my thoughts out.

    1. Kimberly Davis is simply amazing and I think we MUST remember that small acts of bravery are important in order to build the “habit of being brave”!

      Are you slicing? If so, enjoy the month of March! ❤

      1. I am slicing! It’s gonna be a wild, wild month!

  2. Fran, your writing is always so inspirational! The concept of bravery could not be more important than in today’s day and age. Thank you for saying, “Brave is writing every day in March with fellow slicers.” Ironically, this is my first time as a slicer! So I came here first to be inspired…and you always deliver!

    1. Lanny,
      Writing is hard. We MUST acknowledge that and then show our students and teachers how we move on. My quote Jumpstart ed my thinking, but I did not want it to be my hook for this slice. Being planful in writing takes work.

      You will love slicing and will be amazed by the inspiration, joy, and support that resides in this community!

  3. Yes, Fran. Brave is not thinking about doing what is right, but doing what is right.

    1. So true!
      Time to DO what is RIGHT!

  4. FRAN! So good to be reading your SOL again this year. I almost chose BRAVE as my OLW, I think it is fitting this year. I went with LOVE because that is where I would be able to must my courage. If I keep that in mind…Love for my children, the environment, the disenfranchised, the vulnerable, the world…I could take more risks and be BRAVE.
    I LOVE your post. Thanks for starting my month of March off with such an inspiration.

    1. Paula,
      So excited to see you at #SOLSC! Love is great. Brave is great! Brave love is superb!

  5. I’ve always loved the word brave, especially when someone says, in order to be brave one must first be afraid–like in the quote you shared. It is so true. In order to be brave, we must certainly make a choice to have courage in the face of some danger or risk. I love when I am able to point out bravery to my students. They often don’t recognize it but when they realize they have it in them to be brave it seems to ripple out of them with more abundance.

    1. Betsy,
      Brave is huge. So many ways and reasons to be brave for students and adults!

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

  6. I am holding on to this post and this reminder, Fran. Brave is definitely the word of the day for the next four years!

    1. Tara, it sure is. It’s a CRAZY world and our voices and actions do matter. ❤

  7. Brave is my word too – much needed in these times! ❤ Enjoy year 4 of posting!

  8. Fran, so inspired by your bravery – by naming it, I know you will follow through with action. My OLW is routine and I am LOVING that it is March because now I am making it a routine to write every day!!

  9. Your wise words make it much easier to be brave! Thank you for being such an inspiration, Fran!

  10. Fran, I need to print this out and hang it on my mirror so I can see it every day! Such truth, and so important to be brave in new ways these days. I will check out the TED Talk and let your words inspire me when I feel less than as brave as I would like to be. I love your OLW! (And mine is “resolve”…so we should get together on this! Our words go together!). Happy First Day of #SOLSC–looking forward to more learning from you as we go!

  11. […] Thanks to Fran McVeigh for the inspiration for today’s slice!  Read her #OLW post here. […]

Leave a Reply

Doing The Work That Matters

a journey of growing readers & writers

Present Perfect

adventures in multiple tenses

Leadership Connection

from Great Prairie AEA

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna

Middle English

Life as an English teacher leader

steps in the literacy journey

Walking the Path to Literacy Together

arjeha

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Resource - Full

Sharing Ideas and Resources

Joel Pedersen

be that #oneperson

adventuresinstaffdevelopment

All Things Literacy! Brianna Parlitsis

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

elsie tries writing

"The problem with people is they forget that that most of the time it's the small things that count." (Said by Finch in All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. These are my small things that count.

I Haven't Learned That Yet

This blog serves to document my path of learning and teaching.

Simply Inspired Teaching

A blog by Kari Yates

Reflections on Leadership and Learning

Sharing my learning experiences

AnnaGCockerille Literacy

The Generative Power of Language: Building Literacy Skills One Word at a Time

Reading to the Core

Just another WordPress.com site

Karen Gluskin

My Teaching Experiences and Qualifications

