#SOL17: Troubles

Troubles often come in multiples. What number strikes you?

I couldn’t access wordpress so I didn’t know if my post had published as scheduled. Two thirds of the 21 days of slicing have had computer troubles so I knew it was going to be a typical terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day.

word press security

When I finally accessed wordpress, I saw my post was published so I linked up to the “Call for Slices”.  For some strange reason, I decided to check the posting and I discovered that an earlier draft had published on my work laptop . . . the computer I had abandoned because it was soooooooooo sssslllllloooooooowwwwwwwwww! That was NOT the final version so I quickly edited the published slice and updated it because I knew it was going to be a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day.

troubles one

I went to start my car and the low tire light came on.  I backed the car up to the garage but the air compressor would not turn on so even though I found the little emergency air compressor in my car and did get it aired up –  I knew it was going to be a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day.

troubles two

Tire finally aired up and then my phone rang.  A call I had to take because the first ten minutes from my house have no signal . . . hills, dips, and bridges – as I answered the phone I knew it was going to be a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day.

troubles three

After I finished my phone call, airing up my tire, editing my post, and checking wordpress, I sat down and had another cup of coffee.  This was not the day to leave in the dark, hit a deer and make a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day EVEN WORSE!

Calm, cool, collected . . . and caffeinated after two cups of coffee, I left for the day.

Safe.

Sound.

Done with the annoyance and the aggravation.

Ready for the rest of the day to proceed as positively as possible. Ready for any and all learning opportunities.  After all, I had already solved MANY problems!

problems five

How do you handle your troubles?  

How do your students handle their troubles?  

How do we persevere in the face of adversity?  

How do we define adversity?



slice of life

Thank you, Betsy, Beth, Deb, Kathleen, Lanny, Lisa, Melanie, and Stacey for this weekly forum and the #SOLSC that runs from March 1 to the 31st. Check out the writers, readers and teachers here. 

welcome-wagon-volunteer-with-border.jpg

early morning slicer

19 responses

  1. Whew…glad to hear that the very bad day eased up eventually – deep breath, coffee, calm. You made it, Fran!

    1. Tara,
      This was so interesting because I was sure that it was going to be a poem. But then I needed more details.

      I really enjoy this month of writing because I also learn about myself!

  2. What we pull out of adversity is worthy. It helps us the next time we have that ominous feeling of a terrible, no good day. Somehow I’m not surprised you rose above it. For me, coffee is the cure-all.

    1. Julieanne,
      A pause, if there is no “reset”, is magical. That’s why coffee is also my cure-all. Thanks!

  3. You are really taking the opportunity to ‘write to discover’. Sometimes what I start to compose looks nothing like the final product. My changing shifts as I uncover and discover feelings, ideas, and connections that weren’t initially obvious. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this post, Fran. Especially the questions you pose at the end to make it personal to your readers. Thanks for slicing-I really look forward to reading them!!

    1. Thanks, Paula.
      Today is an awesome, wonderful, very good day!

  4. Love the borrowing of the Viorst line throughout this piece. We certainly all have days like this (hopefully, not too many). I am glad to hear you are safe and sound! Great questions to make us think, Fran!

    1. Thanks, Lynne, for crediting Judith Viorst for that line. It was such an interesting day because those REALLY were little things, but at the time they seemed like mountains . . . piling up on top of each others. Little things for our students are also very, very worrisome. I need to make sure that I don’t ignore them or diminish their impact now that I remember how 4 in a row made me feel like such a loser!

  5. Here is hoping today is a very sunny, totally awesome, extremely good day.😉

    1. Erin,
      It has already begun better! Thank you for the good wishes!

  6. You lost me at “scheduled” post- that is something I aspire to, but never seem to aacomplish! You could have had a bad day, but in your characteristic optimism you turned it around and wrote a great slice- win-win!

    1. Erika,
      In WordPress, I can “schedule a post (time and date) and I’ve been using it this month during slicing because . . . I have been writing my posts during the nightly news and then scheduling them for early morning posting . . .
      because other wise when I get up in the morning and reread them, I often say, “Oh, #!%$, and spend an hour revising them.

  7. Two cups of coffee and a moment of quiet brought perspective – you HAD already solved so much. I hope the rest of the day was better. (And I love your explanation to Erika about why you schedule posts – you know yourself well!)

  8. I am glad you were able to turn around your TERRIBLE, HORRIBLE, NO GOOD, VERY BAD DAY. Hope the rest is going smoothly!

  9. Oh my, Van Morrison said “My mama told me there’ll be days like this”, & that’s how I handle them. I used to say I went out & kicked the garage door, but now I have no garage, I have to rely on a chair or something. Last week sometime, FYI, WordPress wouldn’t allow me to comment anymore. I changed the password, etc. Those days like this make me hate technology, & then at the same time I know some in our world have no electricity, & I calm down, and know how lucky I am. Sorry for your day, glad it’s over!

    1. I know: no food, water or electricity is a big deal – these really are troubles . . . not a calamity . . . not life threatening.

      But darn it – annoying and aggravating in the moment! Love going out and kicking the garage door! 🙂

  10. I’m exhausted just reading about all of the things you had to handle so early in the day. After calm, cool, and collected I would add caffeinated as well. I would need the caffeine to keep me going. Hope the rest of your day went well.

    1. OOOOH! More alliteration! Love it!

Leave a Reply

Doing The Work That Matters

a journey of growing readers & writers

Present Perfect

adventures in multiple tenses

Leadership Connection

from Great Prairie AEA

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna

Middle English

Life as an English teacher leader

steps in the literacy journey

Walking the Path to Literacy Together

arjeha

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Resource - Full

Sharing Ideas and Resources

Joel Pedersen

be that #oneperson

adventuresinstaffdevelopment

All Things Literacy! Brianna Parlitsis

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

elsie tries writing

"The problem with people is they forget that that most of the time it's the small things that count." (Said by Finch in All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. These are my small things that count.

I Haven't Learned That Yet

This blog serves to document my path of learning and teaching.

Simply Inspired Teaching

A blog by Kari Yates

Reflections on Leadership and Learning

Sharing my learning experiences

AnnaGCockerille Literacy

The Generative Power of Language: Building Literacy Skills One Word at a Time

Reading to the Core

Just another WordPress.com site

Karen Gluskin

My Teaching Experiences and Qualifications

