#SOL17: A Box

Brown cardboard box.

Inside the front door.

Big enough?

Ah, small package in front.

Another book.

Not unusual.

The bigger box?

4 x 18 x 12

IS IT?

My arms are full.

Mya wants in.

The ground is wet from the steady rain.

What do I do?

The Amazon delivery at my door?

The bags in my hand?

Major decision.

I want to rip the box open.

I need to set other bags down.

Is it possible to handle all simultaneously?

Nope.  Only two hands!

Push the door open, set down bags in hands inside the door, pick up Amazon items, carry in, and open, ooh and ah, YES!, open, open, open, plug in, wait,

NOT PATIENTLY WAIT,

MUST WAIT . . . .


This morning,

Joyfully,

With occasional twinges of anxiety-

All that newness,

Crafting my post

On my new chromebook plus.

Bells and whistles not understood

But adjusting to the new keyboard

A new “touch feeling”

A new sound to my fingers pressing the keys

More of a thud.

Not a click, click, click.

Celebrating double clicks.

A new language on the tool bar.

Learning

AGAIN!

chromebook-plus-open-pen_675403

learn more about chromebook plus here

How do you merge anticipation and reality?

How do you learn new things?  

Just dive in OR read all the materials first?

What are you looking for in your next NEW device?



Thank you, Betsy, Beth, Deb, Kathleen, Lanny, Lisa, Melanie, and Stacey for this weekly forum and the #SOLSC that runs from March 1 to the 31st. Check out the writers, readers and teachers here.

12 responses

  1. Today as I read your writing, I continue to be amazed at how aware you are of your inner voice asking questions. Then as a reader who knows you as an author, I come to expect those questions at the end, too! I will admit that in the moment, I may not have an answer but I like how your questions linger with me through the day. Enjoy your new tool!

    On a different topic, I humbly ask 2 questions of you, my wise, connected friend? I want to write an article about using kidblog with my students. Can you suggest publications to submit it to? I want to present at a conference, maybe with Erika Victor, about how two teachers, 12 hours apart, collaborate in bringing strong literacy to their 3rd graders? (haven’t told Erika yet!) Any suggestions?

    1. Sally,
      Years of self-questioning stand me in good stead! LOL

      I’m loving this device . . . but less than 24 hours so it’s the honeymoon stage!

      Conference – NCTE, ISTE would be my choices. Writing = hook up with Kimberly Moran and her new writing job!

  2. I will be curious to see how the relationship with your new device develops. We had Chromebooks last year in school and I did not love them (back to Macbooks this year), but that may be because I am so used to Apple by now and could have grown to love it. Yours is way fancier than what we had. I loved your dilemmas!
    I love reading Sally’s comment above (and by now she commented on my post that we should present together). I love our connected world!

    1. Erika,
      I’ve already hooked up Sally with a place for you to publish about Kidblog. What fun! I have never figured out the time differences. We should write a “Currently” in google docs at the same time and then post it in both blogs.

      And it’s been almost a year since I purchased or even looked at a device so I’m excited to try something new!!!

  3. Congratulations on your new toy! I’m thrilled it will help you keep writing!

    1. Erin,
      There’s so much about the size to love! We’ll see how good of a replacement it really is! But fun learning new stuff. Not so fun re-entering passwords for every stinking app/site!

  4. Love getting new things…the thrill of anticipation…the joy when it arrives…the eagerness to rip off the wrappings and get right to it. Why bother with directions. It is much more fun to dive right in and see what you discover. Congratulations on your new acquisition, Fran.

    1. So much fun to open up a BIG BOX! I didn’t read the directions. I plugged it in, set the timer for 30 min., and tried to finish up some other work. I wanted enough battery life to PLAY!

  5. Who doesn’t love a new toy? Congratulations! And the sight of an Amazon box propped up against the door can’t be beat. Such excitement. I sure hope drones don’t start dropping them soon. I’m not ready for that!

    1. Oh, I agree about drones. They would be leaving them away from the door is my guess and that would not work for rainy days and or to avoid being left out where the critters can find them.

      Definitely exciting to have a new toy! We’ll see how it goes!

  6. Congratulations on your new techy toy! New things always come with a learning curve, but I am sure you will have it figured out real soon! Enjoy!

    1. Hopefully, it will be a short learning curve, Leigh Anne. However I am sure that I will find some wrinkles along the way! ❤ THANKS!

Leave a Reply

Doing The Work That Matters

a journey of growing readers & writers

Present Perfect

adventures in multiple tenses

Leadership Connection

from Great Prairie AEA

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna

Middle English

Life as an English teacher leader

steps in the literacy journey

Walking the Path to Literacy Together

arjeha

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Resource - Full

Sharing Ideas, Strategies and Tools

Joel Pedersen

be that #oneperson

adventuresinstaffdevelopment

All Things Literacy! Brianna Parlitsis

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

elsie tries writing

"The problem with people is they forget that that most of the time it's the small things that count." (Said by Finch in All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. These are my small things that count.

I Haven't Learned That Yet

This blog serves to document my path of learning and teaching.

Simply Inspired Teaching

A blog by Kari Yates

Reflections on Leadership and Learning

Sharing my learning experiences

AnnaGCockerille Literacy

The Generative Power of Language: Building Literacy Skills One Word at a Time

Reading to the Core

Just another WordPress.com site

Karen Gluskin

My Teaching Experiences and Qualifications

To Read To Write To Be

Thoughts on learning and teaching

Books and Bytes

Exploring the best of literature and edtech for the middle grades.

To Make a Prairie

A blog about reading, writing, teaching and the joys of a literate life

Raising Voices

Thoughts on Teaching, Learning, and Leading

