#SOL22: Memory Loss?

“What was it?”

“Um” … Long pause. No pressure. “Crunchy?”

I begin to shuffle through memories in my head … GA. CA. Last few meals out. Last few meals picked up.

No memory. Reading the choices doesn’t help.

FAIL.

Two cars are now lined up in the rain behind me.

No sudden remembrance echoing in my brain. “Just pick something.” Of course, I cannot say it out loud. The person listening to the order must think I’m crazy

I consumed it last time. It was an unexpected treat. It was like no other lunch order. Today, as I’m trying to remember any of the details, I’m coming up blank. NADA.

I read back through the list.

Now there are three cars lined up. Decisions are apparently beyond me today.

“Do you have the Doritos?” my sister leans across and asks.

The voice in the metal bucket says, “Yes.” And I take a big breath. Solution.

Decision made.

No memory loss here.

I didn’t see the menu before.

I didn’t order it.

I just ate it.

Semi-randomly, I choose. I think it’s one of three items. I choose the first. Soon I will find out if I was able to guess correctly.

When you can’t respond quickly and easily to a question, what’s your response? Are you calm? Are you panicking? How do you move on?

_________________________________________________________________

Thank you, Two Writing Teachers, for this weekly forum. Check out the writers and readers here.

Screenshot 2019-01-29 at 3.12.16 AM.png

6 responses

  1. I usually tell people hang on a sec – my brain is scrolling up. 🙂

    1. Yes. This. Scrolling at warp speed!!

  2. Your post made me think of one of my students. His mom says he often has decision paralysis and to just give him two choices. I inwardly panic at too many choices.

  3. I am constantly annoying my husband when I take too long to make a decision. Your capture this moment so well.

  4. We have all been there. Mind draws a blank…others waiting for us to make a decision…we choose and hopefully make a good choice. As to those waiting, one day you will be in this same spot.

  5. Lately I’ve been telling people “My brain isn’t quite working …” and most of the time, people are like “Oh, I know, mine is the same.” 🙂

Leave a comment

A(nother) Year of Reading

We are still reading. A lot.

Common Threads

Patchwork Prose and Verse

Pencilonmybackporch

Writing from home, school and travel

Living Workshop

Continuing to navigate the ever changing world of teaching through Workshop

My Zorro Circle

it is what it is

Steph Scrap Quilts

"Our lives are connected by a thousand invisible threads..."

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

Tim's Teaching Thoughts

Ideas and Reflections on Teaching

Hands Down, Speak Out

Listening and Talking Across Literacy and Math

Teachers | Books | Readers

Literacy Leaders Connecting Students and Books

Dr. Carla Michelle Brown * Speaker * author * Educator

We have the perfect words. Write when you need them. www.carlambrown.com

Curriculum Coffee

A Written Shot of Espresso

Mrs. Palmer Ponders

Noticing and celebrating life's moments of any size.

doctorsam7

Seeking Ways to Grow Proficient, Motivated, Lifelong Readers & Writers

Doing The Work That Matters

a journey of growing readers & writers

annedonnelly.wordpress.com/

adventures in multiple tenses

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna