#SOL19: Day 6 SOLSC

Since Last March

(A format I’ve used here in 2016 and here in 2018 and originally from Erin Baker here)

Since last March, I’ve been everywhere.

Everywhere for time with the kids in Iowa, Kentucky, holidays and Hawkeye football.

Everywhere for family events –  graduation, graduation, graduation and visiting cousins, kids football, volleyball, soccer, and traveling with the elders.

Everywhere for stretching and growing my mind.

Screenshot 2019-03-06 at 3.31.39 AM.png

A few of the “Everywhere” locations

Since last March, the magic number is two.

Two grandsons as cute as can be,

Two boys growing and stretching,

Two months from four and four months from one.

celebrate balloons

Since last March, I’ve said good-bye.

Good-bye to relatives and friends,

Good-bye to old routines,

Good-bye to doubt and fear!

Screenshot 2019-03-06 at 3.41.08 AM.png

Since last March, I’ve said hello.

Hello to friends who I’ve met face to face,

Hello to slicers, bloggers, and voxers from or at #tcrwp, #ncte18, #g2great, and #ccira19,

Hello to ILA – a Literacy Leadership Brief, hosting a chat, and planning for a conference institute,

Hello to friends, family, and.colleagues!

Hello, March.

It’s time to write!

How are you celebrating your year? 

What “goodbyes” and “hellos” have you found?




Thank you, Betsy, Beth, Deb, Kathleen, Kelsey, Lanny, Melanie, and Stacey for this weekly forum from Two Writing Teachers. Check out the writers, readers and teachers here.

Screenshot 2019-01-29 at 3.12.16 AM.png

18 responses

  1. I love hellos and goodbyes. This is like the first time and the last time strategy for finding stories. So much to do and say and give and receive in a lifetime Fran. Thanks for doing all if it.

    1. You are welcome! This and “Currently” are two of my favorites structures. This one is less spontaneous (or it misses a lot of key details)!

  2. Love this poem structure. It shows so much as you reflect on the year!
    So glad you added images and photos.
    My favorite line is: Two months from four and four months from one.
    I remember when the 1st was around one and I was with you, buying him books at Banks Street Books. Congrats, grandma of 2!!

    1. 2016 had your image! YAY! yes to book shopping! And I believe that is also my favorite line – birthday’s a coming!!!! ❤

  3. I love this format–hellos and goodbyes–
    Gets me thinking, as you knew it would, about my own travels and experiences this year.
    Love this. Thanks.

    1. You are so welcome, Diane!
      Celebrations are important!

  4. I love this. What a positive way to celebrate the passing of a year! Makes me think about my own past year. Interesting. This is a very inspiring concept. Great use of images to keep the flow going.

    1. Such a fun way to think of the year and slicers that I see more of in March than other times of the year! About the images . . . even with googling, I could not figure out how I did that map. Same computer so I am totally at a loss! Duh!

  5. I’ve seen this format in other blog posts. So much to celebrate over a year. We say goodbye and we say hello.

    1. Margaret,
      You, too, have hello to a grandson! Such a treasure! ❤

  6. Fran you’ve been busy! Keep learning, growing and sharing– I appreciate you! Love this format and how you breathe it to life! Makes me reflect on my past year.

    1. Judy,
      It seems as though life speeds up all the time. Always more to do!!! Thanks for commenting!

  7. There is so much that happens in our lives over the course of a year. This is a great way to take stock of them…a great way to celebrate the past year.

    1. Celebrate my curiosities and I overlap my last two #OLWs! Reflection is good. 🙂

  8. I love this format 🙂 sounds like a pretty good year!

  9. Love your collection of pictures! It’s a fun format, Fran. It combines fun with important in a great way.

  10. […] by a poetry form, Since Last March… written by Fran yesterday, I’m going to give it a try today. This will be my quick draft. I know it can be better once […]

  11. Love this format! Thank you for the inspiration.

Leave a comment

A(nother) Year of Reading

We are still reading. A lot.

Common Threads

Patchwork Prose and Verse

Pencilonmybackporch

Writing from home, school and travel

Living Workshop

Continuing to navigate the ever changing world of teaching through Workshop

My Zorro Circle

it is what it is

Steph Scrap Quilts

"Our lives are connected by a thousand invisible threads..."

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

Tim's Teaching Thoughts

Ideas and Reflections on Teaching

Hands Down, Speak Out

Listening and Talking Across Literacy and Math

Teachers | Books | Readers

Literacy Leaders Connecting Students and Books

Dr. Carla Michelle Brown * Speaker * author * Educator

We have the perfect words. Write when you need them. www.carlambrown.com

Curriculum Coffee

A Written Shot of Espresso

Mrs. Palmer Ponders

Noticing and celebrating life's moments of any size.

doctorsam7

Seeking Ways to Grow Proficient, Motivated, Lifelong Readers & Writers

Doing The Work That Matters

a journey of growing readers & writers

annedonnelly.wordpress.com/

adventures in multiple tenses

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna