SOL: On the Importance of Reading

slice

Tuesday is the day to share a “Slice of Life” with Two Writing Teachers. Check out the writers, readers and teachers here. 

This is the third in a series about “The Importance of  . . . Check out the previous posts here

I was out of town for training and really wanted to write about assessments, processes, in the life that I was living, but that will be a secret for at least six more weeks as the wheels of bureaucracy turn.  At one point this morning I actually had six different beginnings to this post.  So it was not procrastination, but the receiving end of professional development that has moved this post to the end of the day.

 

*   *   *   *   *   *

Beth Moore’s call for “Slicers” today in the link above included this quote:

“I really think that reading is just as important as writing when you’re trying to be a writer because it’s the only apprenticeship we have, it’s the only way of learning how to write a story.” ~From the Brotherhood 2.0 project. – John Green

 

 

How important is reading in your life?

There are days that I feel like I cannot breathe because I haven’t read or written  anything.  As necessary as breathing – that’s my literacy life.

 

Do any of these quotes reflect the importance of reading in your life?

“We read to know we are not alone.”    C.S. Lewis

“Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting.”   Edmund Burke

“The more you read, the more things you will know.  The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.”  Dr. Seuss, I Can Read With My Eyes Shut!

“Once you learn to read, you will be forever free.”   Frederick Douglass

“A capacity and taste for reading gives access to whatever has already been discovered by others. ”  Abraham Lincoln

 

Please share your favorite quote!
How do you show that importance in your own life?

4 responses

  1. I love your quotes…and my favorite is from an unknown source:
    SO many books; so little time 🙂

    1. Anita,
      I love your quotation as well. I had better make some time for reading tonight!
      Thanks for reading and commenting!

  2. Yes! I also feel like I have not taken care of my soul on the days I don’t read and write. This is my problem when I get back into the throws of the school year and I sacrifice these important times.

    1. Every minute counts so stealing a few minutes to read is critical. Saving “skinny” books on the TBR stack for those short readings is better than no time. It’s important that we are able to talk about how we eke out precious minutes for some of our over-scheduled kiddos!

      Thanks for commenting!

Leave a comment

A(nother) Year of Reading

We are still reading. A lot.

Common Threads

Patchwork Prose and Verse

Pencilonmybackporch

Writing from home, school and travel

Living Workshop

Continuing to navigate the ever changing world of teaching through Workshop

My Zorro Circle

it is what it is

Steph Scrap Quilts

"Our lives are connected by a thousand invisible threads..."

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

Tim's Teaching Thoughts

Ideas and Reflections on Teaching

Hands Down, Speak Out

Listening and Talking Across Literacy and Math

Teachers | Books | Readers

Literacy Leaders Connecting Students and Books

Dr. Carla Michelle Brown * Speaker * author * Educator

We have the perfect words. Write when you need them. www.carlambrown.com

Curriculum Coffee

A Written Shot of Espresso

Mrs. Palmer Ponders

Noticing and celebrating life's moments of any size.

doctorsam7

Seeking Ways to Grow Proficient, Motivated, Lifelong Readers & Writers

Doing The Work That Matters

a journey of growing readers & writers

annedonnelly.wordpress.com/

adventures in multiple tenses

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna