Celebrate: Mother’s Day

mom at Evans wedding

Happy Mother’s Day!

In this post for Mom’s birthday two years ago, I promised to write my own poem for the next special ocasion. What on earth was I thinking?  Not thinking . . . promising!  Silly me!

Research!!!

I found 30 poems here.  And some stories here.  And numerous ways/languages to say “Mother”are below.

mother

How will you honor your mother?

I love the idea of Mom-isms. And these online here are precious.

What is Momism?

As a kid and even during our growing up years, we receive some sound scolding from our mothers time and again. These sharp comments and directives raise our indignation and irritation and we love to dismiss them as “unnecessary criticism” or “momism”. But the fact is, we would not have mended many of our wrongdoings and grown up to be socially amiable without many of these timely utterances from our mothers. Amusingly, most of us grow up to mouth the same sayings of our mothers when we find ourselves in her shoes. This mother’s Day, let us take a look at some well known “momisms”. With little variations, these phrases have been repeated again and again by mothers around the world, irrespective of race, caste, social standing and religion. You may even find some of your own mom’s sayings here. Enjoy this article and have a great reading time.

  1. What if everyone jumped off a cliff? Would you do it, too?
  2. If I talked to my mother like you talk to me….
  3. If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all.
  4. “If you see a penny pick it up, put it in your drawer and it will grow”.
  5. “Peel one potato per person, and one for the pot”.
  6. “What goes around comes around.”
  7. What’s meant to be, is meant to be.
  8. I’ve got eyes in the back of my head, that’s how!
  9. You tell that bully to cut it out or you’ll tell the teacher…
  10. You have enough dirt behind those ears to grow potatoes!
  11. Honestly… You’d lose your head if it wasn’t screwed on!
  12. Who’ll end up walking, bathing and feeding it…?
  13. Get that thing out of your mouth!
  14. You’ll understand when you have kids of your own.
  15. I hope that when you grow up, you have kids “Just Like you”!
  16. I’ve told you a thousand times not to do so.
  17. If you hurt yourself, don’t come running to me.
  18. Work hard! You were not born with a silver spoon in your mouth.
  19. Close that door! Were you born in a barn?
  20. It doesn’t matter what you accomplish, I’ll always be proud of you.

Read more at http://www.theholidayspot.com/mothersday/momism.htm#xG0BccMWZq8swTtt.99

And my wandering took me to one of my favorite all time videos that I often use to humorously talk about rate, enunciating clearly and prosody. A total of 2 minutes and 55 seconds of  Anita Renfroe’s “The Mom Song”.

Link

I recognize several statements in that video that I used more than once as a “mom”, “aunt” and “teacher”.  I don’t recognize as many that my mom used.  Maybe it was because there were MANY of us.  Or maybe my memory just didn’t retain those ideas!

mom-and-obama

Dear Mom,

On this Mother’s Day Eve,

Thank you for sharing your love of books.

Because of you I’m an eclectic and voracious reader.

Thank you for sharing your love of cooking.

Because of  you I’m an intrepid experimenter in the kitchen.

Thank you for sharing your love of people – you know no strangers.

Because of you I can often find other Iowans and family members as I travel.

Thank you for never saying, “I told you so” and always being supportive.

Because of you I’ve learned that life is not always a bed of roses but pretty blooms do have some thorns.

Thank you for teaching me that doing the right thing is more important than being right.

Because of you I’ve learned that the hard times are great learning times because words and actions do matter.

Thank you for your love and attention

Because of you I’m the person that I was clearly meant to be!

Happy Mother’s Day!

Love,

Fran

 

Thank you, Ruth, for this call to celebrate.  celebrate link up

 

Leave a comment

A(nother) Year of Reading

We are still reading. A lot.

Common Threads

Patchwork Prose and Verse

Pencilonmybackporch

Writing from home, school and travel

Living Workshop

Continuing to navigate the ever changing world of teaching through Workshop

My Zorro Circle

it is what it is

Steph Scrap Quilts

"Our lives are connected by a thousand invisible threads..."

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

Tim's Teaching Thoughts

Ideas and Reflections on Teaching

Hands Down, Speak Out

Listening and Talking Across Literacy and Math

Teachers | Books | Readers

Literacy Leaders Connecting Students and Books

Dr. Carla Michelle Brown * Speaker * author * Educator

We have the perfect words. Write when you need them. www.carlambrown.com

Curriculum Coffee

A Written Shot of Espresso

Mrs. Palmer Ponders

Noticing and celebrating life's moments of any size.

doctorsam7

Seeking Ways to Grow Proficient, Motivated, Lifelong Readers & Writers

Doing The Work That Matters

a journey of growing readers & writers

annedonnelly.wordpress.com/

adventures in multiple tenses

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna