#OLW19

Drum Roll . . .

Red Carpet . . .

Celebratory Toast . . .

My final choices were:  Gratitude, Celebrate, and Thankful.

I tested them out with flash drafts of this post.

What was I searching for?

Enduring words:  That would be a part of my life 24/7 – literally woven into the fabric of my life

Practical words: That would be like a ticker tape running in the background of my life.

All encompassing words:  That would be suitable for my professional life, my personal life and my role as a grandmother.

How would I know which word was THE word?

I would easily be able to flash draft a post about the word.

I would NOT check to see who else had chosen the word.

I would be able to use the subtle nuances of the word in my decision-making process.

My selection grid:

Screenshot 2019-01-01 at 6.18.39 PM.png

One Last Review of Previous Words:

  • 2014    Transfer
  • 2015     Focus
  • 2016    Joyful
  • 2017    Brave
  • 2018    Curious

AND . . .

MY CHOICE . . . 

Screenshot 2019-01-01 at 5.35.20 PM.png

Celebrate . . . 

Successes in work – the processes and the product

Successes in learning – the struggle of change and the challenges of implementing those                                              changes

Successes in family life – school and life events

Successes in being present – paying attention to small wins every day to fuel long term                                                          goals

Work attempted

Work completed

And when needed  . . . celebrate that which is YET to come!

My Goal = Celebrate . . . EVERY day!

What is your #OLW19? 

How and when did it find you? 

What will you celebrate in 2019?




Teacher Resources:

  1. One Little Word
@lhighfill

New Year, One Word HyperDocs wke.lt/w/s/5y4xQ via @wakelet A collection of three lessons for reflection/goal setting w students in the new year. Just file and make a copy to edit for your specific student needs. @TsGiveTs @SEANJFAHEY @WickedEdTech @KarlyMoura @SARAHLANDIS

         Check out the wakelet link above!   3 different choices!

       2. Word Comparisons      https://wikidiff.com/

11 responses

  1. As you are such a noticer and connector I think this word will be a great word for you this year! I love the way you compared your finalists.

    1. Thanks, Erika!
      A new site for me, https://wikidiff.com/
      It is set up to let you see the differences between two words – so very, very helpful!!! 🙂

  2. What a wonderful word! It just begs to be celebrated! And so positive. My word is similar but not the same. I’ll reveal tomorrow for our Spiritual Thursday round up.

    1. Ah, similar but not the same! So many words were synonyms when I explored definitions that I knew I was on the right theme!!! Can’t wait to see yours!

  3. You gave it a lot of thought, Fran! (The table is impressive.) In the end, it sounds like you found the perfect word for you. Hooray!
    Happy New Year!

    1. Stacey,
      I have learned that it’s easy to make a word “fit” if can be adapted a bit like curious also is curiosity. But some words don’t allow that flexibility and I loved checking out the “comparing words” site to find out that celebrate could actually encompass both of the other two. I’m sure that site will come in handy in the future!
      Happy New Year!

  4. So glad you picked the verb!

    1. Julieanne,
      Yes, being a verb was two Bonus points!
      Happy New Year!

  5. Thank you for the wonderful resources. Because of your example, I have really given my word choice much thought.

    1. Pat,
      Love that you are applying much thought. Some years the words are easier than others – no rush!

  6. […] Little Word has a rich heritage and you can see my process in my 2019 choice hereas well as my previous […]

Leave a comment

A(nother) Year of Reading

We are still reading. A lot.

Common Threads

Patchwork Prose and Verse

Pencilonmybackporch

Writing from home, school and travel

Living Workshop

Continuing to navigate the ever changing world of teaching through Workshop

My Zorro Circle

it is what it is

Steph Scrap Quilts

"Our lives are connected by a thousand invisible threads..."

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

Tim's Teaching Thoughts

Ideas and Reflections on Teaching

Hands Down, Speak Out

Listening and Talking Across Literacy and Math

Teachers | Books | Readers

Literacy Leaders Connecting Students and Books

Dr. Carla Michelle Brown * Speaker * author * Educator

We have the perfect words. Write when you need them. www.carlambrown.com

Curriculum Coffee

A Written Shot of Espresso

Mrs. Palmer Ponders

Noticing and celebrating life's moments of any size.

doctorsam7

Seeking Ways to Grow Proficient, Motivated, Lifelong Readers & Writers

Doing The Work That Matters

a journey of growing readers & writers

annedonnelly.wordpress.com/

adventures in multiple tenses

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna