#SOL15: March Challenge Day 10

Today’s writing is based on Bev Baird’s post here with the model of “Currently” as mentioned in Stacey’s Call for Slices.

march-2015-calendar-48

Currently

Listening to the meteorologist predict 70 degrees for today – WOW!

Drinking my first cup of coffee and inhaling that fragrant brew.

Feeling excited for my trip to Kentucky to see the kids this weekend.

Clicking on slices to read this morning while pondering my words – 40 “slicers” have already posted today!

Chuckling to see that Tara has changed her blog’s snowy background and spring is around the corner.

Staring into the darkness due to the change in time.

Working on a new google site for a summer class with a bit of time to carefully create a “work space”.

Listing today’s “To Dos” to make sure I stay afloat.

Saving my drafts, ever conscious of my need to post my slice this morning.

Enjoying this month of daily writing because it is pushing me to consider different formats and different topics while continuing to reflect on my writing process!

Slice of Life

Check out the writers, readers and teachers here. Thanks to Stacey, Anna, Beth, Tara, Dana and Betsy at “Two Writing Teachers” for creating a place for us to share our work.

18 responses

  1. I love the “Currently” posts, they always put the reader right beside the writer. It’s like I’m peering over your shoulder. That beginning word is critical, loved the clicking and chuckling. Have a great weekend!

    1. Thanks, Lee Ann!
      I like how “Currently” lets you into my house to sit beside me . . . Almost felt like I needed to clean for company! (almost!)
      Ready for some Spring Break! ❤

  2. So much on your mind and on your to-do list! I like these lists. Enjoy the 70 degrees!!

    1. Thanks, Holly! The current temperature will have to double in order to reach 70 . . .but it’s possible. I know – I hate the frantic part of the “to do” lists but I will enjoy my four day weekend with the kids! ❤

  3. Love that these”Currently” posts are in the present. A true picture of life happening at this moment.

    1. I was thinking of them for student practice – different STRONG verbs and the whole “present” writing as well!

      Thanks for confirming that! ❤

  4. This is just wonderful – love the verbs which drive each line.

    1. Thanks, Tara, because I am really leaning towards this for student practice as well! And to see how many different verbs we could use as a group . . . More thought needed about “HOW” this could look!

  5. beachhousefarmhouse | Reply

    Such bright, sunny post with a fun list. 🙂

    1. It was a very FUN post to write! Thinking about many teacher and student applications from this type of writing!

  6. […] Then, my good friend Fran McVeigh suggested writing a “Currently” post as she did today. She credits Bev Baird’s post with a model of “Currently” as mentioned in Stacey’s Call […]

  7. I love this format, Fran. It’s definitely one I’ll be using one day this month. Have a wonderful visit with your kids!

    1. It was so fun, Catherine! You will enjoy using it! And thanks! I am looking forward to seeing them!

  8. […] 10 (or Tuesday’s) post was “Currently” based on Beverley Baird’s post here from Stacey’s call for slices. That […]

  9. […] so this “Currently” list seemed like a good way to try to get back on track. Thanks to Fran McVeigh and Bev Baird for the […]

    1. You are welcome! Love the “ripples” as we use this ideas!

  10. […] by Fran McVeigh and Beverly Baird (check out their posts here and here), I decided to write a slice about the present […]

Leave a comment

A(nother) Year of Reading

We are still reading. A lot.

Common Threads

Patchwork Prose and Verse

Pencilonmybackporch

Writing from home, school and travel

Living Workshop

Continuing to navigate the ever changing world of teaching through Workshop

My Zorro Circle

it is what it is

Steph Scrap Quilts

"Our lives are connected by a thousand invisible threads..."

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

Tim's Teaching Thoughts

Ideas and Reflections on Teaching

Hands Down, Speak Out

Listening and Talking Across Literacy and Math

Teachers | Books | Readers

Literacy Leaders Connecting Students and Books

Dr. Carla Michelle Brown * Speaker * author * Educator

We have the perfect words. Write when you need them. www.carlambrown.com

Curriculum Coffee

A Written Shot of Espresso

Mrs. Palmer Ponders

Noticing and celebrating life's moments of any size.

doctorsam7

Seeking Ways to Grow Proficient, Motivated, Lifelong Readers & Writers

Doing The Work That Matters

a journey of growing readers & writers

annedonnelly.wordpress.com/

adventures in multiple tenses

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna