#SOL15: March Challenge Day 17

clock1

Tick, Tock!

Life

60 seconds in a minute

60 minutes in an hour

24 hours in a day

3600 minutes in a day

How do you choose to spend them?

Tick, Tock!

school

clipartpanda.com

School

60 seconds in a minute

60 minutes in an hour

7 hours in a school day

420 minutes in a school day

How do you choose to spend them?

Tick, Tock!

How do you make decisions about how you spend your time?

Is it the “to do” list?  Is it checking things off?

Is it the “living” list?  Something for yourself and something of service to others?

Quotes about Time 

Which one fits you?

“Charles Richards
Don’t be fooled by the calendar. There are only as many days in the year as you make use of. One man gets only a week’s value out of a year while another man gets a full year’s value out of a week.
H. Jackson Brown
Don’t say you don’t have enough time. You have exactly the same number of hours per day that were given to Helen Keller, Pasteur, Michelangelo, Mother Teresa, Leonardo Da Vinci, Thomas Jefferson, and Albert Einstein.
Dr. Laura Schlessinger
Don’t spend time beating on a wall, hoping to transform it into a door.

Benjamin Franklin
Dost thou love life? Then do not squander time, for that is the stuff life is made of.

Thomas Edison
Everything comes to him that hustles while he waits.

Robert Browning
Grow old along with me! The best is yet to be, The last of life, for which the first was made; Our times are in his hand who saith, “A whole I planned, Youth shows but half; trust God: See all, nor be afraid!

Louis E. Boone
I am definitely going to take a course on time management… just as soon as I can work it into my schedule.

Jeffery J. Mayer
If you haven’t got the time to do it right, when will you find the time to do it over?

Lee Iacocca
If you want to make good use of your time, you’ve got to know what’s most important and then give it all you’ve got.”

Does it matter?

Last night, I chose to work on my “to do” list.  A sure sign that my four day weekend was over.  I also chose to set the timer and read and respond to slicers . . . and I met some totally new folks that slice in a different time frame. For me, that was the perfect balance of “wants” and “needs”.

Did I get everything on my list done?  Of course not!  But my list is for today and I have a great start on it . . . which is usually impossible on a full day of professional development.  Choosing to work in advance was my choice, no complaints, just an opportunity to alleviate today’s pressures!

What choices do you make?

slice of life

Check out the writers, readers and teachers here. Thanks to Stacey, Anna, Beth, Tara, Dana and Betsy at “Two Writing Teachers” for creating a place for us to share our work.  So grateful for this entire community of writers who also read, write and support each other!

22 responses

  1. Allow me to add one more quote. It is not abut time, but can be applied to how we choose to use our time. “It is our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.”. Albus Dumbledore to Harry Potter.

    1. Adroenne,
      That fits so well! Thanks for that addition!

  2. I love this post Fran. I love how you started in one direction, eased into the quotes and then wrapped back around with your reflection on choices. Today I think I’ll choose to write early!

    1. Thanks, Dayna! It wasn’t what I was going to originally write, but it was what I was thinking about last evening!

      1. Isn’t that funny how you may start out to write about something but your writing leads you elsewhere. I love that part of writing every day.

  3. You’ve got me thinking about something I think a lot about. Sometimes I feel like I’m a time wrangler. Always planning, trying to get the best, the most out of time. That can be exhausting and frustrating. I think being realistic with time is my biggest challenge. When I have to start making time for sleep, I’ve gone too far.

    1. Time is critical but we can’t always RUSH the students and their thinking. Continually being aware and NOT wasting time is critical!

      Thanks, Julieanne!

  4. I love the quote by Lee Iaccoca. I am such a do-er. I love a To Do list, and I love checking things off. I have to remind myself that, in the end, what matters is how I spent my time with the people I love. Hence, my OLW this year: connect.

    1. Dana,
      I do connect with being a do-er and nothing gives me greater satisfaction than checking things off. However, with my OLW being “focus”, I am finding it easier to set a time frame for work/task completion and then walking away. (keeps me closer to sanity!)

      Thanks for commenting!

  5. I also keep a To Do list. If I don’t, I find myself meandering from one thing to another and not always getting something done. Of course, there are those times when while doing one thing I see something else that needs to be done and then move on to that. It’s then list revision time.

    1. I absolutely love “list revision time” because that means that I also had time to meander a bit in search of FUN! THANKS!

  6. H Jackson Brown’s quote spoke most to me. Whatca thought provoking post

    1. Erin,
      That is the quote that I use the most . . .or with a bit of a change . . . “Oh, wow, I didn’t know that your time ran differently than Helen Keller, Thomas Edison, Benjamin Franklin . . . etc. (probably with a bit of skepticism!) 🙂

  7. I needed to read this, on this hectic march day when I feel that I have neither time, not the energy to make time. Thank you, Fran!

    1. Tara.
      It sure seemed like that kind of day today. Good, but long, with no extra minutes! You are welcome!

      Seriously, with slicing, commenting and running the classroom challenge – you are a MARVEL!!! 🙂

  8. Love the quotes–great reminders and a great challenge you pose for making the best of our time.

    1. Thanks, Maya.
      Being able to borrow other ideas helps with writing some days!

  9. I love this, Fran! Tonight, Jeffrey Meyer’s quote “If you haven’t got the time to do it right, when will you find the time to do it over?” is exactly the reminder I needed. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and these quotes.

    1. Thanks, Catherine! I was also holding onto that one quote at the end of the day!

  10. […] of our control and with little to show for our use of time.  I just wrote about time Tuesday in this post. It’s another full day of professional development today with a twist – a two hour […]

  11. This echoes my post on “yes” and “no”…seems we all struggle with time management and using it in soul-filling ways. Thanks for the validation!

    1. I will check out your blog!

Leave a comment

A(nother) Year of Reading

We are still reading. A lot.

Common Threads

Patchwork Prose and Verse

Pencilonmybackporch

Writing from home, school and travel

Living Workshop

Continuing to navigate the ever changing world of teaching through Workshop

My Zorro Circle

it is what it is

Steph Scrap Quilts

"Our lives are connected by a thousand invisible threads..."

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

Tim's Teaching Thoughts

Ideas and Reflections on Teaching

Hands Down, Speak Out

Listening and Talking Across Literacy and Math

Teachers | Books | Readers

Literacy Leaders Connecting Students and Books

Dr. Carla Michelle Brown * Speaker * author * Educator

We have the perfect words. Write when you need them. www.carlambrown.com

Curriculum Coffee

A Written Shot of Espresso

Mrs. Palmer Ponders

Noticing and celebrating life's moments of any size.

doctorsam7

Seeking Ways to Grow Proficient, Motivated, Lifelong Readers & Writers

Doing The Work That Matters

a journey of growing readers & writers

annedonnelly.wordpress.com/

adventures in multiple tenses

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna