#SOL: Palindromes & Learning

And the landscape has changed:

I saw 15851 roll over today.

I did a little “cheer” as I traveled down the road.

But wait, you just cheered  167761 in this 13.31 post here.

“How did that work?”

Well, Friday afternoon after a week filled with 8 different PD sessions . . .

I stopped by my favorite car dealership just to see what was available.  I rode in one, contemplated several others, thought about my needs  . . .

And today I am back to new learning . . .

My Questions are many!

Which side has the gas tank?

How big is the gas tank?

Why doesn’t Toyota make headlights turn on automatically?

How do I sync my phone?

How does GPS work?

Where will I plug in my phone charger?

Where will I put my ID?

How will I organize my stuff?

And then my list:

sunglasses (HA – rain in the forecast for all week)

umbrella

electric wheel

speaker

insurance

At 15851 it still has that new car smell.

How long will it have that new car look?

How long will it have that new car clean?

(And as far as I know . . . it does not TALK to me!)



Thank you, Betsy, Beth, Deb, Kathleen, Lanny, Lisa, Melanie, and Stacey for this weekly forum and the #SOLSC that runs from March 1 to the 31st. Check out the writers, readers and teachers here.

8 responses

  1. Nice, Fran. I’m not as good at recognizing palindromes as you and other people I know. I’m often surprised when people point out the palindromes in dates. I do appreciate them, though, when I see them.

    I was surprised with the odometer of 1,667,661. I thought that was some special car you had that racked up that many miles, so I had to click on your former palindrome post. Ah, but I see it was a typo and your former car had a more reasonable total, with two less digits.

    Good luck on keeping that new car smell until your next car!

    Denise

    1. Denise,
      Yes, that number was a bit too high! However a Toyota engine can go that far!
      Thanks! 🙂

  2. This made me laugh, Fran because I am still learning what my new car does and doesn’t do. Don’t think I’ll ever learn all of its idiosyncrasies. Wishing you many happy miles.

    1. Enjoying the miles so far. If I learn something new every day, I think I will be on the right track! 🙂

  3. I love looking for palindromes on my odometer. Good luck with your new car. Three and a half years later, I still don’t know how to change my clock!

  4. Lots of new learning comes with a new car. Glad for some of the features (back up camera), but I miss my CD player and there’s still so much to learn. Good luck with whittling down those questions. My husband keeps saying that I need to read the manual!

  5. […] written about palindromes before here, here and […]

  6. […] that I see in so many places. In words, in numbers, and in life. I’ve written about them here, here, and […]

Leave a comment

A(nother) Year of Reading

We are still reading. A lot.

Common Threads

Patchwork Prose and Verse

Pencilonmybackporch

Writing from home, school and travel

Living Workshop

Continuing to navigate the ever changing world of teaching through Workshop

My Zorro Circle

it is what it is

Steph Scrap Quilts

"Our lives are connected by a thousand invisible threads..."

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

Tim's Teaching Thoughts

Ideas and Reflections on Teaching

Hands Down, Speak Out

Listening and Talking Across Literacy and Math

Teachers | Books | Readers

Literacy Leaders Connecting Students and Books

Dr. Carla Michelle Brown * Speaker * author * Educator

We have the perfect words. Write when you need them. www.carlambrown.com

Curriculum Coffee

A Written Shot of Espresso

Mrs. Palmer Ponders

Noticing and celebrating life's moments of any size.

doctorsam7

Seeking Ways to Grow Proficient, Motivated, Lifelong Readers & Writers

Doing The Work That Matters

a journey of growing readers & writers

annedonnelly.wordpress.com/

adventures in multiple tenses

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna