#SOL20: #BookLove

 

Are you ready?

What is one of the best books in the world?  What is a book that will surprise you with each reread?  What book will nurture your soul?  What book will allow you to write beside the poems and unwrap your own stories . . . your own life?

I believe the answer is found in this book that is the initial book for elementary teachers participating in the Summer Book Love Book Club!

Screenshot 2020-06-22 at 9.15.12 PM

Franki Sibberson wrote about this book by Irene Latham and illustrated by Charles Waters in her blog post here. As I read Franki’s post, I was nodding my head to every statement. And like Franki said, this week’s discussion in Book Love Foundation’s Summer Book Club is already underway. (Seriously, go read what Franki said!)

You could still see these amazing speakers.

Screenshot 2020-06-22 at 9.32.02 PM

And interact with the almost 1,000 folks in the Book Club.

You might write or see examples . . .

Like  my first draft poem for the beginning of #BookLove.

Screenshot 2020-06-22 at 9.07.41 PM

Week 1 has begun.

We wrote poetry Monday.

#BookLove learning has begun.

What is on your learning agenda? 

What is your favorite poetry book? 

Is there a book club in your summer plans?




Thank you, Two Writing Teachers, for this weekly forum. Check out the writers and readers here.

Screenshot 2019-01-29 at 3.12.16 AM.png

Addendum:  Amy Ludwig VanDerwater Resources  bit.ly/2YU6Ifi

14 responses

  1. […] inspired by “Acceptance”. I have just seen that Fran wrote today from the same book here. This book is one that should be in every home and classroom. It will inspire so much thought, […]

    1. So much thinking and writing just explodes from this book!!!

  2. I wrote from this book today too! I wish I had a physical copy- I have to rely on the Epic version so far. I LOVE your abecedarian (I taught that term to a third grader this morning and she decided it would be too hard, so we wrote nonets instead). I really look forward to teaching (more) with this book!

    1. Erika,
      You will love this book when it arrives. Each two page spread is simply amazing. It’s a book that your kids will also want to touch. Hang in on Epic and get your thinking going!

  3. Now I really need this book!! Off to order…

    1. Elisabeth, you will love it!

  4. I love your poem, Fran! I agree, this Dictionary for a Better World is a wonderful “desk book” to peruse over and over. Inspirational!

    1. It’s simply amazing, Jennifer, and yes, so inspirational!

  5. Your abecedarian poem is beautiful, Fran! Thrilled to read and learn alongside you this summer.

    1. Lorraine, it’s first draft only. I am so looking forward to trying out more formats this summer! Cannot wait to see more of your learning also!

  6. I have no words … you are the BEST!!!

    1. Clare,
      It seems you may need to see an optometrist. LOL. Love your enthusiastic support! You encourage me to do greater things! Totally, “Back at you!” ❤

  7. I wasn’t familiar with this book so I downloaded a sample on my Kindle. Wow. Now I need to put in an order for the book, not the Kindle edition. Thanks, Fran.

    1. You. Will. Love. It.

Leave a comment

A(nother) Year of Reading

We are still reading. A lot.

Common Threads

Patchwork Prose and Verse

Pencilonmybackporch

Writing from home, school and travel

Living Workshop

Continuing to navigate the ever changing world of teaching through Workshop

My Zorro Circle

it is what it is

Steph Scrap Quilts

"Our lives are connected by a thousand invisible threads..."

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

Tim's Teaching Thoughts

Ideas and Reflections on Teaching

Hands Down, Speak Out

Listening and Talking Across Literacy and Math

Teachers | Books | Readers

Literacy Leaders Connecting Students and Books

Dr. Carla Michelle Brown * Speaker * author * Educator

We have the perfect words. Write when you need them. www.carlambrown.com

Curriculum Coffee

A Written Shot of Espresso

Mrs. Palmer Ponders

Noticing and celebrating life's moments of any size.

doctorsam7

Seeking Ways to Grow Proficient, Motivated, Lifelong Readers & Writers

Doing The Work That Matters

a journey of growing readers & writers

annedonnelly.wordpress.com/

adventures in multiple tenses

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna