#SOL21: Remembering When

Remember?

I claimed that I was my father’s favorite. How could it not be? I was born on Father’s Day and many years my birthday coincided with that holiday. Of course, I was his favorite (at least on my birthday)!

The smell of sawdust meant that Dad was busy in the workshop. Working on the house. Crafting. So many items. Jewelry boxes for all of us. A grandfather clock.

On holidays we would take pictures of Dad and the boys. Typically the hall closet would be in the background. Opposite the big picture window. A view of everyone growing. A view of everyone aging. Pictures that over time became Grandpa and the boys.

The smell of popcorn meant that it was Sunday. Sunday supper often included popcorn. Popcorn eaten by the handful. Unsalted popped popcorn in a bowl with sugar and milk as a cereal supper. A big Tupperware container of popcorn that would be the snack for the next few days.

The silence. The silence of disappointment. Waiting for “the talk” after less than appropriate behavior. The hangdog feeling that when I was on the edge of disapproval.

On February 9th, today, I am remembering Dad on his heavenly 92nd birthday. On 2/9 and his 92nd. A very short palindrome.

This morning. Sitting with my computer and remembering. My smiles and laughter as I remember Dad! Thinking of how I will honor him today, tomorrow, and all my days.

And yet, still missing him. The sights, the sounds, the smells that remind me of Dad. The memories. I remember.

Previous posts about Dad here (my favorite) and here. And on the learning side, What is Memory? (here)

What triggers memories, near and far in time? What events remind you of family members who no longer have an earthly presence? How are you creating memories that will linger after you?

________________________________________________________________________________________________

Thank you, Two Writing Teachers, for this weekly forum. Check out the writers and readers here.

Screenshot 2019-01-29 at 3.12.16 AM.png

8 responses

  1. Love your memories, Fran. I always find it interesting how certain sounds, smells, trigger memories.

    1. Thank you. Sometimes the memories are so vivid that they seem so near!

  2. Thank you for sharing. It is fascinating how something very small reminds us of near ones who are no longer with us. My father-in-law loved to eat beaten rice mixed with curds and we remember him when eaten beaten rice. Whenever I make ‘rasam’ from ripe wild mangoes, I remember my cousin who passed away more than ten years ago. He used to say it was cold blooded murder of ripe mangoes if we make rasam from them.

    Ripe Wild Mangoes Rasam recipe by Rajeshwari Shyam Bhat at …
    https://www.betterbutter.in/recipe/104197/ripe-wild-mangoes-rasam

    1. Ah, yes, the simple things. Checking out your mango recipe as my sister has them!

  3. litcoachconnection | Reply

    Birthdays of those we loved and lost are difficult. I love how you choose to honor your dad today and every day. He sounded like such a special person. – Krista

    1. Thanks, Krista.
      So many important days. So many important memories! ❤

  4. This is such a heartwarming post and reminded me of all the wonderful memories I have of my father whom I lost recently. Fathers are special and I would like to believe that they are watching over us from wherever they are. Thanks for sharing and peace and light to him as he celebrates his palindromic birthday somewhere in the stars!

    1. Your are welcome. And I like that “peace and light to him”. YES!

Leave a comment

A(nother) Year of Reading

We are still reading. A lot.

Common Threads

Patchwork Prose and Verse

Pencilonmybackporch

Writing from home, school and travel

Living Workshop

Continuing to navigate the ever changing world of teaching through Workshop

My Zorro Circle

it is what it is

Steph Scrap Quilts

"Our lives are connected by a thousand invisible threads..."

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

Tim's Teaching Thoughts

Ideas and Reflections on Teaching

Hands Down, Speak Out

Listening and Talking Across Literacy and Math

Teachers | Books | Readers

Literacy Leaders Connecting Students and Books

Dr. Carla Michelle Brown * Speaker * author * Educator

We have the perfect words. Write when you need them. www.carlambrown.com

Curriculum Coffee

A Written Shot of Espresso

Mrs. Palmer Ponders

Noticing and celebrating life's moments of any size.

doctorsam7

Seeking Ways to Grow Proficient, Motivated, Lifelong Readers & Writers

Doing The Work That Matters

a journey of growing readers & writers

annedonnelly.wordpress.com/

adventures in multiple tenses

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna