#SOL21: Numbers

It’s winter and numbers rule my life.

Below 0 … the daily highs

-20s and -30s … the daily lows

Snow on the ground in increments of feet – not inches

Numbers rule my life.

Tire pressure light remains on

As each tire varies in the cold

Lower than usual

Not so low to be concerned

And yet numbers rule my life.

What can I focus on?

What am I willing to do?

Read?

Write?

Sew?

Not safe to go out?

Numbers rule my life.

I begin with one idea.

One row at a time it builds.

One.

Then three.

A panel.

Numbers rule my life.

One elephant

One plus one plus one . . .

Row by row . . .

Numbers rule my life.

And the process continues . . .

What numbers are currently “controlling” your life? How are you rising to the challenge?

________________________________________________________________________________________________

Thank you, Two Writing Teachers, for this weekly forum. Check out the writers and readers here.

Screenshot 2019-01-29 at 3.12.16 AM.png

6 responses

  1. Such a powerful lyric on the ways that numbers affect us and so timely. There is darkness but I love the way the writing ends with something of creation and the routine of craftsmanship as a balm for the numbers which indicate loss.

  2. Numbers do rule our lives more than we realize. Numbers tell us the time. Numbers tell us how long to cook food. Numbers tell us how to reach someone on the phone. Love how your numbers added up to three.

  3. I love that numbers of elephants are part of your life. Your quilt is fabulous!!
    When I think in numbers, I see:
    1 dose of the vaccine administered and dose #2 in 1 week.
    Hopeful that temperature stays at 96.8 degrees.
    Counting down to return in person teaching . March 1st for me and March 8th for 6th graders.
    Numbers due seem to rule when we think about it!

    1. Love your numbers.
      I am horrified by our state coronavirus numbers…. higher than many countries.

      The quilt is my most technical work so far a bit of fun and yet a great stretch.

  4. What a neat idea to have two sides to your writing. NWEA data numbers are controlling my life right now. Looking at data and trying to not be discouraged by our struggling students. The pandemic presents challenging numbers on many levels, but we are more than numbers. We are readers, writers, and thinkers!

    1. We are more than numbers.
      Yes.
      And so sorry that NWEA data is controlling. No data set should ever have that much power. None.

Leave a comment

A(nother) Year of Reading

We are still reading. A lot.

Common Threads

Patchwork Prose and Verse

Pencilonmybackporch

Writing from home, school and travel

Living Workshop

Continuing to navigate the ever changing world of teaching through Workshop

My Zorro Circle

it is what it is

Steph Scrap Quilts

"Our lives are connected by a thousand invisible threads..."

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

Tim's Teaching Thoughts

Ideas and Reflections on Teaching

Hands Down, Speak Out

Listening and Talking Across Literacy and Math

Teachers | Books | Readers

Literacy Leaders Connecting Students and Books

Dr. Carla Michelle Brown * Speaker * author * Educator

We have the perfect words. Write when you need them. www.carlambrown.com

Curriculum Coffee

A Written Shot of Espresso

Mrs. Palmer Ponders

Noticing and celebrating life's moments of any size.

doctorsam7

Seeking Ways to Grow Proficient, Motivated, Lifelong Readers & Writers

Doing The Work That Matters

a journey of growing readers & writers

annedonnelly.wordpress.com/

adventures in multiple tenses

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna