#SOLSC22: 8

Habits matter.

Over time, habits become visible patterns.

I was fortunate to have time to develop habits and patterns in NYC due to the curiosity and unquenchable thirst for knowledge of another visitor.

google.com

Where have we been?

  • 9/11 Memorial
  • 9/11 Memorial Museum
  • 9/11 Memorial Museum Guided Tour
  • Wandering and Revisiting Exhibits in the 9/11 Memorial Museum
  • St. Paul’s Chapel
  • Time Square
  • Visiting the Lions at the New York City Public Library (and the gift shop)
  • Rockefeller Square
  • Bank Street Books
  • Broadway Shows
  • Tenement Museum
  • Subway Travel
  • Dinners
  • Meet ups with friends
  • Birthday dinners

So much learning.

The best tip ever was to ask (before making a purchase), “Do you ship purchases?” And if the answer was, “Yes,” then the next step was to inquire about the pricing.

Why did it matter?

When traveling by plane, I’m a “carry on” passenger. I don’t check luggage. Similarly, I also follow the rules about the number of bags that I take on a plane. I don’t carry six bags on the plane. I check the rules and follow them.

I learned about shipping from my friend Allison Jackson. We’ve had many adventures in NYC, but her “shipping tip” has literally saved my back and my brains when traveling! Thank you, Allison!

Photo by Alexas_Fotos on Unsplash

Who fuels your curiosity? How do you plan your adventures? What are your favorite travel tips?

_____________________________________________________

Thank you, Two Writing Teachers, for this daily forum during the month of March.

Check out the writers and readers here.

Screenshot 2019-01-29 at 3.12.16 AM.png

12 responses

  1. I never would have thought to do that! Thanks for the tip.

    1. Me either! Often shipping was less than Amazon! Passing on the love!

  2. My travel tips depend on the kind of travel (length, purpose, etc.) For my summer trip “home” for the first time in three years, I am choosing my airline based on luggage allowance…I will be light on the way home and heavy on the way back…

    1. I can’t even imagine your planning for this trip home. A relief and yet so much to do!

  3. A nice thing about tips is that they usually come from someone who has “been there” so they know what they are talking about. We actually had things shipped home from Australia when we were there so those questions were extremely important.

    1. Practical. Just in time. Lifesaving.
      Those are the kinds of tips that you remember as well as where they came from. To learn that I didn’t have to physically carry everything myself was literally a lifesaver and I chuckle when I see folks laden with bags of books after conferences/institutes. NOT ME!

  4. I always pack an array of tea bags in a plastic sandwich baggie. Lightweight, easily portable and brings a taste of home.

    1. That’s a great tip. Being prepared is always helpful.

  5. I loved seeing the image of the map as I have the same one. I loved seeing your NYC list. I really miss visiting NYC. I wonder when I’ll go again?? I hope we both are visiting there again. Sorry, no tip to add. Just a thank you for taking me to NYC today via your slice.

    1. Efficiency works for online learning. Maybe we will have to schedule separate social and learning bookstore visits.

  6. Sounds as if you had a great trip! I’m always glad to hear that people enjoy visits here. 🙂

Leave a comment

A(nother) Year of Reading

We are still reading. A lot.

Common Threads

Patchwork Prose and Verse

Pencilonmybackporch

Writing from home, school and travel

Living Workshop

Continuing to navigate the ever changing world of teaching through Workshop

My Zorro Circle

it is what it is

Steph Scrap Quilts

"Our lives are connected by a thousand invisible threads..."

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

Tim's Teaching Thoughts

Ideas and Reflections on Teaching

Hands Down, Speak Out

Listening and Talking Across Literacy and Math

Teachers | Books | Readers

Literacy Leaders Connecting Students and Books

Dr. Carla Michelle Brown * Speaker * author * Educator

We have the perfect words. Write when you need them. www.carlambrown.com

Curriculum Coffee

A Written Shot of Espresso

Mrs. Palmer Ponders

Noticing and celebrating life's moments of any size.

doctorsam7

Seeking Ways to Grow Proficient, Motivated, Lifelong Readers & Writers

Doing The Work That Matters

a journey of growing readers & writers

annedonnelly.wordpress.com/

adventures in multiple tenses

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna