#SOL16: March Challenge 29 – The Zoo

 

zoo

So just imagine a family trip to the zoo during an extended Easter weekend . . .

Ready?

The ABC’s of Our Trip to the Louisville Zoo

Addax

Brown bear / bald eagle

Camels

Ducks

Elephants

Flora / fauna

Gorillas / giraffes

Holiday Monday

Intent on visiting the zoo

Jaguar

Kids and families!

Lions / lynx

Meerkats

Napping grandson

Out and in – a stroller

Puma

Quietly and Not so Quietly

Reviewing the animals and their informational signs

Seals / sea lions

Tiger

Under the cloudy Louisville skies

Very precious families

Warthog

Xany dad

Youthful grandmothers

Zebras

How do you capture the unique qualities of a day?


Process/Goal:   To describe the day at the zoo with grandson, mom, dad and the two grandmothers. What a fun day through the eyes of a 10 1/2 month old boy.  I recorded notes on my phone with “S Notes” seen here as we headed home from the zoo.

At 11:01 pm I decided to stay with the ABC idea since I was past the midpoint. I began the draft and thought of how to “cover” the letters where I did not have animal names. Seriously, typed and ready to post in less than 30 minutes!


 

slice of life 2016

Thank you, Anna, Betsy, Beth, Dana, Deb, Kathleen, Stacey, and Tara. Check out the writers, readers and teachers here.  It’s the March Slice of Life Challenge; posts are DAILY!

 

 

25 responses

  1. Sounds like a magical zoo day with your grand babies ! What a clever way to post about these fond memories

  2. It’s wonderful to know that a little boy and a zoo could bring so much joy into the lives of his family. It sounds like your day was very special, Fran.

    1. Perfect day, Carol! THANKS!l!

  3. Love the story shot through the lens of ABCs. Especially love the Youthful grandmothers. Hugs to John Ross.

  4. Hugs to youthful grandma and John Ryan. What a great day!

    1. Thanks, Tara! Trying to soak up every minute!

  5. When we have to write every day, we notice things with more attention. Love the form and all the zoo animals.

    1. So true, Margaret. It’s that lens of “could I write about this?” Lots of playing with form this month = JOY!

  6. Perfect solution for the missing animal letters! Such a fun poem that captures the day and the joy from the author.

    1. So much fun although just a touch chilly!

  7. I’ve always enjoyed an abc poem. What a fun structure to capture such a memorable day.

    1. Thanks, Erin. Always so fun to find a new “old” way to write!

  8. I like how you filled in the missing letters, Fran. I tried an ABC poem years ago when we were at Hershey Gardens but didn’t know how to fill in the missing letters. Wish I had thought of this. I’ll have to go back and try again.

    1. Bob, I really like poems for multiple voices. I will play some more on a regular slice soon!

  9. I really enjoyed this format! I was a little bored with the ABC format until it surprised me and almost took on a poem for two voices style! So fun!

    1. Thanks for noticing that!

  10. Great stuff! Great format. You are always an inspiration. Glad you’re out enjoying spring with family!

    1. Thanks. Such a great break with the family!

  11. Loved the form. I want to use it for my next vacation.

    1. Thanks, Carol!
      It can fit so many ideas! Events! Situations!

  12. You found a fun and efficient way to capture your zoo visit. Filling in the missing letters did create a two-voices effect, as Ali Vrbas noted. Thanks for sharing your list format. I used a “ten things” list format today and am glad to see another way to quickly grab a slice!

    1. Thanks, Dalila! I almost used a list because I wasn’t sure if I did have enough. (But I was afraid I would still need the top ten on one of the last two days!)

  13. What a fun way to spend a day. Sounds like it was enjoyed by all.

  14. […] first family trip to the zoo over Easter is documented here and it’s a great review as we plan our St. Louis Zoo trip this week for summer […]

Leave a comment

A(nother) Year of Reading

We are still reading. A lot.

Common Threads

Patchwork Prose and Verse

Pencilonmybackporch

Writing from home, school and travel

Living Workshop

Continuing to navigate the ever changing world of teaching through Workshop

My Zorro Circle

it is what it is

Steph Scrap Quilts

"Our lives are connected by a thousand invisible threads..."

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

Tim's Teaching Thoughts

Ideas and Reflections on Teaching

Hands Down, Speak Out

Listening and Talking Across Literacy and Math

Teachers | Books | Readers

Literacy Leaders Connecting Students and Books

Dr. Carla Michelle Brown * Speaker * author * Educator

We have the perfect words. Write when you need them. www.carlambrown.com

Curriculum Coffee

A Written Shot of Espresso

Mrs. Palmer Ponders

Noticing and celebrating life's moments of any size.

doctorsam7

Seeking Ways to Grow Proficient, Motivated, Lifelong Readers & Writers

Doing The Work That Matters

a journey of growing readers & writers

annedonnelly.wordpress.com/

adventures in multiple tenses

The Blue Heron (Then Sings My Soul)

The oft bemused (or quite simply amused) musings of Krista Marx -- a self-professed HOPE pursuing Pollyanna